Marinated courgette/zucchini

Marinated courgette, marinated zucchini

I made this as a side dish and it was so good I knew I had to give this it’s own blog! Rita, Rita cooks Italian has a lovely blog. Sometimes when you make blogging friends but as fast as they come, they sometimes disappear and you never know the reason. Rita hasn’t posted for a long time but her blog is still there and full of lovely Italian recipes.

 

I was thinking about Italian food and went to Rita’s blog for inspiration.We are having a glut of courgette/zucchini at the moment and as much as I love it I need new recipes to use them all up. I found this recipe for marinated courgette and it looked irresistible. I changed the recipe slightly but kept to it as much as possible.

 

Italian marinated courgette/zucchini

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time about 5 minutes 

serves 2 as a side dish 

Ingredients

  • 8-9 thick slices of courgette
  • oil for cooking
  • 2 tbsp good extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • chopped coriander
  • a pinch of chilli
  • a pinch of sea salt

Pan fry the courgette/zucchini slices and drain on kitchen towel.

 

pan frying zucchini

 

Mix oil, vinegar, sea salt and coriander. place the courgette slices on a plate with a rim and add the marinade and let stand for about 30 minutes before serving.

 

Marinated courgette, marinated zucchini

 

I am sorry it took me so long to make this but I am glad I did. This is a great side dish to almost any meal, the soft courgettes and the acidity in the marinade works a treat!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
18 Responses to “Marinated courgette/zucchini”
  1. Loretta says:

    What a simple and nutritious snack this would be, or an appetizer, so beautifully festive too for around the holidays. Is the garnish coriander or parsley? I’m thinking parsley.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Loretta
      It was a treat, so simple and so much flavour! It is coriander but the original recipe called for parsley, I think dill would be interesting as well! 🙂

  2. Lovely! Simple and tasty and fresh 🙂

  3. il Teo says:

    Hi Petra! Have you ever tried them grilled with a glug of good quality olive oil and some chopped parsley and garlic? They’re like the best thing ever! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Teo
      Thanks for the tip! I will give that a go! Courgettes are great and can be cooked so many ways 🙂

      • il Teo says:

        They are indeed! I love them stuffed as well, in risotto or just sliced and sautéed with some oil and garlic! An amazing side! 🙂

      • petra08 says:

        I agree, they have just enough flavours to stand up for themselves and still take up flavours of what is around them! 🙂

  4. Oooh! Don’t you love it when a side dish really catches you like that?!

  5. I have been eating a lot more zucchini lately. I love them, and this recipe looks like a beautiful use for them!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Amie
      Zucchini is a great veggie and it goes with so much! I liked the bite here together with the herbs. I am glad you like it 🙂

  6. Sandhya says:

    What a great dish to serve as an appetizer. I love the marinade and also your awesome presentation!

  7. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  8. Love the idea of marinating courgettes I must give this ago !

Leave a Reply

