Pork with garden vegetables

Pork with garden vegetables and spaghetti squash

Growing vegetables is great. You plant the seeds and wait. They need tlc, water, they like being talked to and some need an extra boost of nutrition every now and then. Before you know it the garden is filled to the brim and I am wondering how I will ever be able to use it all up.

 

I wanted to use as many vegetables as possible and had a bounty of spaghetti squash. It is easy to cook, just pierce it, put it in the oven at 160C or 340F until soft, scoop out the seeds, run a fork along the flesh to get the “spaghetti”out.

 

spaghetti squash

 

I boiled beetroots, sliced them and sprinkled with sea salt, chilli flakes and lemon zest before adding a little extra virgin olive oil.

 

sliced beetroot

 

One of the parsnips looked like a lady with crossed legs, I love quirky vegetables like that!

 

parsnip

 

I roasted potatoes, parsnips and more beetroot. I roasted them at 175C or 350F after adding some oil, salt, pepper and cumin seeds. I roasted them until they were slightly crispy on the outside.

 

potatoes, parsnip and beetroots for roasting

 

It was a simple meal. I had pork tenderloin that I pan fried it with onions and cashew nuts and finished it off in the oven. I was worried the meal might be a little on the dry side. I had some pineapple and made a salsa. I like the combination of pineapple and pork.

 

pork and vegetables

 

Pork with garden vegetables and spaghetti squash

 

The spaghetti squash made sure the dish wasn’t dry at all and for a short time of the year I have my very own vegetable larder, grown by M, my own English gardener.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Pork with garden vegetables”
  1. Sumith Babu says:

    Your plating is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

