Wild fennel cured ribs of venison

cured venison ribs

I went to the butcher the other day to get a small piece of bavette steak. That was everything on my shopping list. As I walked into the Black Pig Butchers Lizzy put out a rack of venison. We were just having a chat and I got completely side tracked! I stopped talking and I just knew, that particular rack of venison would be gorgeous. Lizzy saw what I was looking at and said that it was the best venison she had ever seen and I knew I had to get it. Sometimes it is very easy to sell me things!

 

Venison is usually a very lean meat but this one had a wonderful layer of fat.

 

rack of venison ribs

 

The piece was ribs and loin. I asked them to keep the loin on the bone and separate it from the ribs. I wanted to cook the ribs and the loin separate. I think my food mojo is back in full swing. The ribs will take a little time to cook but it will be well worth it. The next blog will be about the loin.

 

Wild fennel cured ribs of venison

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 24 hours for curing and 3 1/2 hour for cooking

oven 120C or 250Ffor 3 hours and then 225C or 440F for about 15 minutes 

serves 3-4

Ingredients

  • 1 rack of 7 venison ribs
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup salt
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup sugar, I used brown sugar for this
  • 2 crowns of wild fennel flowers
  • 5 fresh or 2 dried bayleaves

Place the dry ingredients in a bowl.

 

wild fennel flower and bay leaf cure mix

 

Mix and spread over the ribs in all sides.

 

curing ribs of venison

 

Cover and place in a fridge for up to 24 hours. I left them in the fridge over night but not for a full 24 hours and it was fine.

Rinse the ribs and place them in a roasting tray. Roast for 3 hours and the let it rest.

 

roasted rack of venison

 

Place the rack back in the hot oven and crisp it up for 15 minutes. rest again and cut up before serving.

 

I cooked a potato and courgette/zucchini bake.

 

Cheesy potato and courgette/zucchini bake

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 30 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4 medium sized potatoes
  • about 1/2 courgette/zucchini
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup full fat milk (a bit more if you want more liquid)
  • about 10 torn pieces of dolcelatte, or any creamy cheese you like
  • salt
  • pepper
  • sesame seeds
  • sliced butter, enough to just cover the dish

Slice the potatoes thin and slice the courgette thicker. Start by placing a layer of potatoes in a buttered, ovenproof dish. Add salt, pepper and crushed garlic. Add a layer of courgette/zucchini, salt and pepper.

 

zucchini and potato bake

 

Add more potatoes and a last layer of courgette/zucchini. Pour in the milk and last slice butter and the cheese on top, add a bit more pepper and sesame seeds.

 

cheesy potato and zucchini bake

 

Bake for about 30 minutes or until cooked through.

 

cheesy potato and zucchini bake

 

The courgette/zucchini on top was just slightly crispy and the rest of the bake soft and rich from the full fat milk and the melted butter and cheese.

 

I cut the ribs and removed some of the fat. It tasted amazing but there was just a bit too much of it. I guess this was my attempt of making this dinner just a tad healthier but I have to admit that was a tiny effort.

 

cured venison ribs

 

I also cooked up some corn on the cob and dinner was ready.

The ribs were jam packed with flavour and fall of the bone tender. It was ribs that demanded attention. There was no point in using a dainty napkin, I got the kitchen roll out and got stuck in.

The rack tasted even better than I thought it would and I agree with Lizzy, it was the best venison I have ever tasted.

I am taking these to Angie’s Fiesta Friday! Come and join us, have a look a delicious recipes, contribute with your own if you have cooked or just have a good time! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
9 Responses to “Wild fennel cured ribs of venison”
  1. Matt says:

    These look fab! Way to snag them from the butcher, I’ve never seen them at mine. Thanks for sharing on Fiesta Friday!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Matt
      Thanks for stopping by! I loved the venison rack so much I even asked the butcher to let me know if she gets it again! I think the season just started so there might be more coming. If you have a butcher ask him or her, am sure they can get some for you if not 🙂 Happy FF and have a great weekend!

  2. My son-in-law hunts and always cooks different things using venison. I never have! Thanks for sharing and maybe I can get him to make this for me 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juju
      I will absolutely make this again and great if you could get your son in law to make it! It is very rich but finger licking good! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  3. Lovely recipe Petra – I am such a fan of slow cooked ribs!

  4. Oh my gosh Petra that is a feast, and those ribs look absolutely wonderful. I’ve never used fennel flowers before but love fennel so can only imagine how wonderful they were.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Thank you! I am sure fennel seeds would work as well. I was just thinking that this would most likely work with pork ribs as well. 🙂

  5. emmaorussell says:

    These look absolutely finger-licking-delicious! Where did you get the wild fennel flowers?

Leave a Reply

