Loin of venison

loin of venison with dipping sauce

This is the second part of the rack of venison that I bought and this part is the loin. The first part was venison ribs. I am not kidding, the ribs were just stunning but the loin was just as amazing in it’s own. The meat was softer and cooked just pink.

 

There was a strip of fat on the loin and I placed it on top with some string. I added salt, pepper and butter and cooked it at 225C or 440F for 20 minutes.

 

loin of venison

 

Take the meat out and turn the heat down to 150C or 300F , add 2 dl or 1 cup of prosecco and 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and cook the meat for 15 minutes per 500gr/17.6/oz for the meat to be cooked medium.

Now comes the hard part, let the meat rest for 20 minutes. I was so tempted just to carve a slice and have a taste but managed to leave it alone.

 

Roasting a loin of venison (cooked medium)

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20 minutes+ 15 minutes/ 500gr/17.6/oz, 10 minutes/ 500gr/17.6/oz for medium rare. The loin was on the bone and I took the weight of the bone in to consideration here as well)

oven 225C or 440F for 20 minutes and then 150C or 300F

serves 4

Ingredients

  • loin of venison on the bone
  • salt
  • pepper

Roast the venison in high heat for 20 minutes. My loin weighed 2 kilo or 70.54 oz. I removed it from the oven and lowered the heat. Once the oven had reached the lower temperature I placed the meat back and roasted it for another 30 minutes.

Let the meat rest for a minimum of 20 minutes.

 

Whilst the loin was resting I reduced the cooking liquid it had cooked in to half. I then added a knob of butter to thicken the gravy slightly before serving.

I cut in to the loin, it was cooked medium and was beautifully pink.

 

loin of venison

 

I plated the slices and added the gravy.

 

loin of venison

 

I loved the loin, it was pink, soft and lean. The sauce had almost notes of apple but it was light and worked well with the venison. The butter added just a little richness.

 

There was so much of the venison we only ate about half. I had enough for another dinner and I wanted to make something different.

 

I sliced the cold, cooked loin of venison thinly and plated it. I added toasted sesame seeds and grapefruit. I just wanted to add a hint of acidity with the grapefruit.

 

Loin of venison

 

loin of venison with dipping sauce

 

I did a dipping sauce for the meat.

 

Loin of venison dipping sauce 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • grated ginger

Mix all of the ingredients and serve with some toasted sesame seeds on top with the venison. The flavours works really well with the venison.

 

loin of venison with dipping sauce

 

The thinly sliced venison worked well with the dipping sauce and I especially liked the flavour of the toasted sesame seeds and the meat together.

 

I am bringing this to Angie’s lovely Fiesta Friday. Come and join us, it is all about having fun and share great food!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
9 Responses to “Loin of venison”
  1. Sumith Babu says:

    Loved that pink slices of meat. Bringing pink in roasting is a real art in cooking!! Nice one petra

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sumith
      I have to admit as the meat was resting I did wonder if it would turn out ok but it did! Perhaps as I cooked it on the bone it was easier to not over, or under cook it! 🙂

      • Sumith Babu says:

        I used to work on cruise ships and roast meat in loads. And used to make from rare to we’ll done in the same oven feeding almost 2000. Love roasting!!

  2. Loretta says:

    Gorgeous venison Petra. Those beautiful pink slices really show it off so well. The dipping sauce sounds wonderful too, I’ll bet it was a smashing meal.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Loretta
      I have to admit the venison was better cold, sliced and dipped but it was good on both days. It was such a treat and I can’t wait to cook more 🙂

  3. chefjulianna says:

    I love your ideas, Petra! I have some wild meat in my freezer and have been wondering how I should cook it! I will have to use some of your ideas!

  4. I miss getting good venison, it can have so much flavor. Never thought to add those kind of flavors with it but sounds good!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      I wasn’t sure if it would work but saw an Asian recipe using venison in a curry so I thought I would give it a go. It was delicious and it made a dish with read meat very light 🙂

Leave a Reply

