Prawn salad with plum dressing

Prawn salad with plum dressing

There is a heatwave! Yesterday was the hottest weather I think I can remember in the UK. My kitchen is in the basement so nice and cool but not cool enough to start any serious cooking. This was a perfect salad day.

 

I wanted to eat prawns, cold water, salty prawns like we eat in Sweden. They are my favourite. I can only buy them shell on but they are so good it is worth the effort.

 

prawns

A friend of mine popped in with a bag of wild plums. They have a tart skin and the flesh is very sweet. I have been eating lots of them but I thought they might make an interesting dressing and that the skin with it’s tart flavour would be nice with the prawns.

 

Prawn salad 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe avocado, sliced
  • 3 tomatoes, cut in to quarters
  • 1/4 cucumber
  • 1 red beetroot
  • 1 spring onion. sliced length ways
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped fine
  • 1 slice watermelon, cubed
  • a pinch of sea salt

I sliced the beetroot and rolled it. I used this as a base and added the other ingredients.

 

I did the dressing using the plums.

 

wild plums

 

Plum dressing 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 5 small plums, stone removed
  • 2 tbsp low fat yogurt
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 1/2 clove of garlic, crushed
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of pepper
  • 1/4  tsp sesame oil

Mix the plums, skin on to a pulp and blend with yogurt. Add mirin, garlic, salt and pepper and taste. Last add a very small amount of sesame oil.

I tasted and then double checked by dunking a prawn in the dressing and tasting again, just in case.

 

I added the dressing last before serving.

 

prawn salad with plum dressing

 

Prawn salad with plum dressing

 

This was a perfect salad for a hot day. It was light but still filling. The plums worked really well as a dressing and I am sure they would work as well with a ham salad.

There is never really a need for an excuse to make a salad but I am glad the hot weather made me think of making one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
13 Responses to “Prawn salad with plum dressing”
  1. I can’t get the energy for much in this heat!!! I use the oven in the morning then that’s it!

  2. FarmerFi says:

    Looks amazing! Makes me feel I should consider altering my “throw it all in a bowl” method of salad construction 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hello FarmerFi
      Thank you for stopping by! It is too hot to cook at the moment so I played around with the plating. 🙂

  3. Gorgeous photos! I didn’t realise the fruit was plums until I read more. I assumed they were mango or peach which are other stone fruits that go well with prawns.

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is WORK DAY EATING which includes any recipe or food experience suitable for the work day such as lunch, snacks or easy meals.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

  4. Mmm, interesting combination Prawns and plums, I´m going to try this recipe out! Thanks.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Char
      Thank you for stopping by! I hope you will like the dressing, let me know how it goes 🙂 Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

