Pork tenderloin and mustard fruits

pork and mustard fruits

A friend of mine gave me some mustard fruits. I love the flavour and the texture. They have a nice mustard bite and if I open a jar I find it hard not to finish it. They go with pretty much anything.

 

I had a pork tenderloin and Just Olives had sent me a sample for reviewing. They sent me some extra virgin olive oil to try. I was sent a sample and any opinions expressed here are my own and have not been influenced.

 

extra virgin olive oil

 

The oil had a mild grassy note and a pale green colour. I thought it would go with the pork and the mustard fruits. The oil is from Salento in Italy. Salento is in the very south and olive oil production is steeped in history and the Tagliaferro & Lazzari families produce only extra virgin olive oil.

 

Pork tenderloin with mustard fruits 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time a few minutes for browning and 20 minutes in the oven 

oven 130C or 270F 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sumac
  • streaky bacon
  • oil for pan frying
  • olive oil
  • mustard fruits
  • sliced fig
  • sliced tomato
  • cracked black pepper
  • juice and zest of 1/2 lemon

Mix all the dry spices, add them to a plate and roll the tenderloin in them until coated. Add the bacon and use the last of the spices.

 

bacon wrapped pork tenderloin

 

Pan fry the pork. I hadn’t secured the bacon so it fell off. I pan fried the bacon on the side and the spices made it delicious.

Once browned place the pan in the oven and cook for 20 minutes, then take it out and let it rest for 10 minutes.

Slice the pork thinly and plate up with olive oil, sliced mustard fruits, tomato and fig. Grate over the lemon zest and add the juice, last add black pepper and serve.

 

pork and mustard fruits

 

The lemon complimented the flavour of the olive oil and it worked really well in this dish. The olive oil is mild and fresh. The production is limited and it worked beautifully with the pork, mustard fruits and lemon.

 

I am bringing this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday, the best and most foodie party around!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
13 Responses to “Pork tenderloin and mustard fruits”
  1. Luca says:

    Hi Petra, thanks for the review. All the best, Luca

  2. Pork tenderloin is my favorite cut of pork Petra. Your recipe looks so pretty and I bet it tastes good too.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juju
      It is a great part of the pork! Thank you so much. I am having a bit of a crush on mustard fruits even since and even better with a good olive oil 🙂

  3. Jhuls says:

    I bet this would be perfect with beef, too. The “sauce” sounds lovely to me. Thanks for sharing at this week’s FF, Petra. Have a fab week ahead. 🙂 x

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juhls
      I am sure the mustard fruits would be lovely with beef as well! I have been searching for a recipe to make them myself but it seems the mustard essence used is sold in Italy only, no idea why!
      Thank you for co hosting FF and have a great wee too! 🙂 x

  4. We just love pork tenderloin Petra and this olive oil sounds wonderful!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      The olive oil was great and so light it worked as a “sauce”. Pork tenderloin is a lovely cut and so quick and easy to cook as well!
      have a great week ahead 🙂

  5. You are an artist Petra. Beautiful and delicious and a fine dining experience for all at the party.

  6. Mustard fruits? I hadn’t heard of them before, where do you find them?? (Looks delish, by the by…)

    • petra08 says:

      hello
      I believe you might be able to find them in a good Italian deli. They are soooo delicious, get the true Italian ones, they are transparent, in a syrup flavoured with mustard essence and absolutely wonderful with meat and/or cheese! I hope you find them , so yummy! 🙂 Have a great weekend.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Pork Tenderloin & Mustard Fruits by Petra @ Food Eat Love […]



Leave a Reply

