Chilli confit pork with cauliflower, fig and butternut rice

Confit pork with cauliflower rice

A few weeks ago I cooked a dish that I really liked. I didn’t take any pictures so I couldn’t do a blog about it but it has been on my mind and I finally got around to making it.

I used shoulder of pork for this, a quite cheap cut and cooked this way it has a lot of flavour and is tender and moist.

 

Chilli confit pork

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 2 hr + time for pan frying

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 700 gr or 24 oz pork shoulder
  • 4 dried chillies
  • oil for cooking, I used groundnut oil, enough to cover the pork
  • a large piece of ginger, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 3 star anise

Cut the fat of the meat and cut it in to cubes. Place the meat in a pan with the chilli and the sliced ginger. Add enough oil to cover the meat.

 

pork in oil with chilli and ginger

 

Cook until the meat is tender, for at least 1 1/2 hours. Drain the meat on kitchen roll together with the chilli and the ginger. Place everything in a pan and fry until the pork is crispy.

 

chilli and ginger confit pork

 

One of my neighbours knocked on the door and she brought a gift. She handed me one of the cauliflowers she has grown on her allotment. We exchange vegetables every now and the and as we don’t have any cauliflower I was delighted. I looked at the cauliflower and decided to make cauliflower and butternut squash rice.

 

Cauliflower, fig and butternut squash rice

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 25-30 mins

oven 175C or 350F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 small cauliflower
  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 1 fig, cut in 8 wedges
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil salt and pepper to taste

Melt the coconut oil in an ovenproof dish. Add the cubed butternut squash, the figs, salt and pepper. bake until cooked half way, about 15 minutes.ย Chop up the cauliflower and place it in the blender until you have a “rice” consistency.

Add the cauliflower rice to the butternut squash and roast until the cauliflower rice is starting to brown and the butternut squash is caramelising slightly. Taste with salt and pepper.

 

Add the cauliflower, fig and butternut squash rice to the crispy pork and serve.

 

Confit pork with cauliflower rice

 

The pork was very tender and the last minute frying gave it a nice crispy coating.

I am bringing this to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. If you have cooked or just want to get inspired come and join us!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
23 Responses to “Chilli confit pork with cauliflower, fig and butternut rice”
  1. This looks absolutely stunning (as ever) and sounds delicious too – I’d love this for dinner!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      Not sure where time goes but thank you and am glad you like it! ๐Ÿ™‚ It was nice and easy to serve from just one skillet!

  2. I am a big pork fan and this would certainly satisfy me. I’ve made cauliflower rice, but not with butternut and figs. How interesting but I be delicious. Thanks for sharing with us Petra and enjoy Fiesta Friday #136 ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. What a great combination of flavors! Happy FF!

  4. Loretta says:

    What a great looking dish and presentation Petra. Love the addition of figs and butternut in your cauliflower rice. The pork ingredients sound good and spicy.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      The pork was super tender cooked like that and great with the cauliflower rice. I love butternut in pretty much everything and it worked here as well! The crunch of lightly caramelised figs was a treat ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. tentimestea says:

    This sounds spectacular Petra, and so perfect for fall. I usually see cauliflower rice as merely a replacement for rice. This time though, I think cauliflower rice is more suited than rice to the flavours and textures of the roasted butternut squash and figs!

    • petra08 says:

      hi
      I am so glad you like it! The cauliflower rice kept the dish very light and the butternut and fig added flavour and texture. It worked well with the pork and fitted in a skillet of dinner for two! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Hi Petra. What a marvelous combination of flavors. I bet that pork is just beautiful and meltingly soft with crispy edges!!

  7. Another winner, Petra! And so creative with the “rice”! Wish I could have a taste ๐Ÿ˜„

  8. Oh wow. This looks so great! Also, I love the cauliflower rice, so clever to use it as rice! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • petra08 says:

      Hej Petra
      I am glad you like it! Cauliflower rice is so light and a great alternative to usual rice! I like to use coconut oil to cook it as it gives it a bit of extra flavour ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

