Lemongrass meringues and marinated strawberry pavlova

lemongrass and marinated strawberry pavlova

When I go out to eat the starter is usually my favourite dish. Just big enough to get my appetite going and usually interesting and bursting with flavour. My love of savoury would always make me choose a starter over a dessert but I do like something sweet at the end of a meal every now and then.

 

The other day I couldn’t stop thinking about making a pavlova, it came from a chat I had with a friend about desserts. I haven’t had one for ages. It is usually too sweet so I was thinking of how I could make it less sweet but still moreish enough to be a dessert. The first thing that came to mind was lemongrass and sesame seeds and I knew I had to give it a go.

 

Lemongrass meringue 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 1 – 1 1/2 hr 

oven 140C or 284F 

serves this makes for 5 meringues 

Ingredients

  • 2 egg whites from large eggs
  • juice from 1/2 lemon, up to 1/2 tbsp
  • 2 lemon grass stalks, the soft inner part only
  • 2 tbsp black sesame seeds
  • 100 gr sugar

Whisk egg whites and lemon juice until the egg white is set. Add the sugar whilst whisking, a little at the time.

Spoon up 5 meringues and make room for a filling in the middle. bake until the meringues sounds slightly hollow when you tap them. You can bake them for an hour, Then turn the heat off and leave them in the oven. Don’t open the oven door. They will be crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.

 

lemongrass and black sesame meringue

 

As a topping I added honey whipped cream and strawberries marinated in strawberry vinegar.

For the strawberries I went to one of my favourite blogs, Food to Glow and made strawberry vinegar. Like Kellie I used less sugar, strawberries will add their own sweetness. I used white wine vinegar and it worked a treat. I didn’t have a cheesecloth but used a jcloth instead. You need to make this 8 days in advance.

 

Marinated strawberries

Strawberry vinegar marinated strawberries

 

I bought fresh strawberries and marinated them overnight in the vinegar and scooped them over the meringue with lightly whipped cream.

 

lemongrass and marinated strawberry pavlova

 

The lemongrass came through in the meringues, adding just a hint of sour and the strawberry vinegar was sweet but it still had a nice tang of the vinegar. The added strawberries lent additional sweetness and it was a sweet dessert but the vinegar cut through and made it a great dessert and a different kind of pavlova. I am sure it would satisfy anyone with a sweet tooth and it filled me up so that I couldn’t fit any cheese! As a complete cheese lover this is quite a feat!

 

I am bringing a plate of these to party at Fiesta Friday with the lovely Angie, co hosts Loretta, Safari of the Mind and Natalie, Kitchen Uncorked and all the other friendly foodies!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
16 Responses to “Lemongrass meringues and marinated strawberry pavlova”
  1. Loretta says:

    Gorgeous Petra. I’ve never attempted to ever make pavlova, but I know I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it when I’ve had them. What a brilliant idea to use lemon grass and sesame seeds to diminish the sweetness. Is lemon grass readily available where you are? I have a tube of lemon grass that I use sparingly in my Thai dishes, I just love that flavor. Now, I can only dream and imagine what your final product was like. Thanks for bringing these to Fiesta Friday 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      I have tried to make meringues for years and they never turned out good but these have a crispy outside and a soft, goey centre and I keep making them.
      The lemongrass was delicious. They have it at the green grocers down the road. Before I discovered that they stocked it I used to stock up whenever I found it, they freeze as well.
      Another brilliant Fiesta Friday! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Cecilia
      Thank you for stopping by and I am glad you like it 🙂

      • Hi Petra! I was trying to find your contact and failed miserably. I just want to let you know that you are doing such an AMAZING job on your blog. GREAT JOB on your writing and photos. Definitely a memorable one! Good luck and I look forward to “seeing” you around!

      • petra08 says:

        hi Cecilia
        Sorry I didn’t put any contact details on the page. Thank you for the wonderful comment, you really made my day and am looking forward reading more about your food and eating in LA! 🙂 Have a great week!

      • Petra, have a wonderful week! ☺️🎉

  2. chefjulianna says:

    So yummy, Petra! You are inspiring me to use up all of the frozen egg whites I have in my freezer right now. Thanks so much for this! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you! I always struggle when I have too many egg whites but all of the sudden I seem to have taken to making meringues! have a great week! 🙂

  3. This is gorgeous, Petra! The lemongrass, sesame seeds and strawberries would make such a lovely combination of flavours. Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday this weekend!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Natalie
      I wasn’t sure what the lemongrass would be like but it added a nice note and I love sesame seeds in pretty much anything, sweet or savoury!
      Thank you for co hosting Fiesta Friday and have a great week 🙂

  4. This is another “goodie” I’ve been wanting to make since taking an online class from “Craftsy”. Strawberry vinegar – I will have to look for this.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      The strawberry vinegar is so nice, sweet enough for a dessert and full of strawberry flavour but not sickly sweet! I have done pomegranate and raspberry as well, delicious! Happy Monday 🙂

  5. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  6. Becky Ellis says:

    I have a beautiful lemon grass plant in my garden, so I can’t wait to try your lovely recipe!

Leave a Reply

