Mushroom inspiration and a tofu challenge

tofu with mushrooms and herbs

I was out with a friend the other day. We stumbled across an oriental food shop and I just had to go in. I didn’t have a lot of time, just enough to pick up a pack of fresh tofu. My friend wrinkled her nose and said “isn’t tofu vile?”.

I have never quite thought of tofu as vile but I know it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea but I took it as a challenge to create something that she would like.

I find the easiest way to achieve this is to deep fry the tofu and serve with a lovely sauce, I prefer a sweet chilli sauce of sort. This time I also had some enoki mushrooms. I can’t find  them here so I have to buy them every time I see them. It was a big mushroom stall and I also got a king oyster mushroom as they are one of my absolute favourites.

 

mushrooms

 

I could have bought lots of mushrooms but I somehow managed to restrict myself.

Enoki mushrooms and tofu goes very well together, here is another dish I made using these two ingredients together.

 

I was thinking about how I could make the tofu attractive and decided to make tofu bites in the end. If my friend wouldn’t like it, there wouldn’t be much not to like and if she did like them she could just grab another piece.

 

I have a guilty pleasure secret and that is pork crackling. I bought a bag at Canterbury food festival and thought it would be nice with the tofu. Something good and something naughty, a perfect balance. You can use anything you like for this, it doesn’t have to be pork crackling but as the tofu is so soft, something with a crunch will work well.

I used these as starters and they are easy to prepare. Just add the soy and enoki mushrooms last minute.

 

Enoki mushroom and tofu bites 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 3

Ingredients

  • enoki mushrooms
  • 12 cubes of tofu
  • black sesame seeds
  • chives, chopped fine
  • pork crackling, ground
  • soy sauce
  • 1 king oyster mushroom, sliced length ways
  • oil for cooking
  • truffle salt

Heat oil in a pan and pan fry the slices of the king oyster mushroom. Add truffle salt.

Dip the side of the cubes in black sesame seeds and chives. Place a dash of soy sauce in small bowls. Add a tofu cube to the bowl and add enoki mushrooms. Last sprinkle the top with the ground pork crackling and serve.

 

tofu with mushrooms and herbs

 

My friend had a piece of tofu as it was and she wasn’t too impressed but she did like the little tofu bites with the flavours and textures and said that she would eat tofu again, challenge accomplished! Tofu seems to inspire love and hate, do you eat tofu and if so, what is your favourite recipe?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Mushroom inspiration and a tofu challenge”

Leave a Reply

