Salted rice malt marinated skate cheek

Salted rice malt marinated skate cheek with walnut and pomegranate salsa

One of my pleasures in life includes crazy food shopping. This means buying foods I have no idea what they are. I than take them home and see what and how I can cook with them. One of my cupboards is full of unknown ingredients. Some I can find on search engines but some are still in their packaging waiting for me to work up a courage and imagination to use them.

 

I was absolutely delighted when I saw salted rice malt. I had never heard of it and I simply had to buy some. Looking it up I learnt that it is used for marinating, mainly meat, it breaks down proteins, tenderising the meat and adding a subtle sweetness. I couldn’t wait to use it.

 

Every now and then, but not very often, there are skate cheeks on sale. I have only seen them once before and cooked them with courgette, here is the recipe.

This time I wanted to do something different and I thought it might be time to try the salted rice malt.

 

Marinated skate cheeks 

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time about 7 minutes 

serves 4 as a starter 

Ingredients

  • 16 skate cheeks/ 4 pp
  • enough salted rice malt to cover the trimmed skate cheeks
  • oil for pan frying, I used rapeseed oil
  • salt

Trim the skate cheeks and place them in a bowl. Cover with salted rice malt. It doesn’t look pretty but it will bring out a lot of flavour.

 

Marinating skate cheeks

salted rice malt marinating skate cheeks

 

Heat the oil in a frying pan on just above medium heat. Don’t wipe the skate cheeks, the salted rice malt will caramelise and taste lovely. Salt them lightly before pan frying.

Pan fry them slowly until just cooked through and serve on a walnut and pomegranate salsa.

 

salted rice malt marinated skate cheeks with walnut and pomegranate salsa

 

Salted rice malt marinated skate cheek with walnut and pomegranate salsa

 

I did the walnut and pomegranate salsa the other day and skate cheeks are quite soft and the walnuts and pomegranates gave the dish a nice texture.

 

I was glad I had bought the salted rice malt and wish I had bought more, or it might be a sign that I need to go shopping again.

 

I liked these so much I am taking them to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. She has two amazing co hosts this week, Julianna, Foodie On Board and Zeba, Food for the Soul, both amazing bloggers, what a treat!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
12 Responses to “Salted rice malt marinated skate cheek”
  1. Becky Ellis says:

    I enjoyed reading about your cooking adventure and your skate cheek dish looks delicious!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Becky
      Thank you for stopping by and I hope you find something to inspire you! 🙂 The skate cheeks were delicious and a bit of a rare treat, I think the fishmonger only does them when he has the time!
      Have a lovely week! 🙂

  2. Loretta says:

    I admire your willingness to try it all Petra, even if you haven’t heard of it 🙂 These skate cheeks look like they did real well with your new ingredient.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      I just love to experiment and have a whole box of hmm.. un known ingredients! I am determined to get through them, let’s see what happens! 🙂
      I am glad you like them, the salted rice malt is lovely with fish and I think meat as well. Even just a coating gives a wonderful caramelized coating, I must get more. I think this was one of the better discoveries!
      Have a great week! We have sunshine and rain! Perhaps i should go and chase the rainbow! 🙂

  3. Sumith Babu says:

    Petra you are a real adventurous chef. Love your adventurous takes on new dishes with new ingradients. These cheeks looks so amazing on that shell. Great photograph as well.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sumith
      I am glad you like it. The fishmonger said the skate cheeks are also called poor mans scallops so I thought fitting to serve them on a scallop shell!
      The cheeks are an absolute treat. I loved the salted rice malt and to try new things, especially when it works this well! 🙂 Have a lovely week!

  4. Wow Petra…you are very creative. I bet those skate cheeks tasted really good in the rice malt. And the walnut pomegranate salsa adds the right but of crunch and sweetness. great dish!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Zeba
      Am glad you like it! It worked really well and I have discovered that the salted rice malt helps give the fish (or meat) a wonderful golden color when pan frying it! I will absolutely buy lots more of this 🙂

  5. Brilliant! I like that kind of challenge!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Salted Rice Malt Marinated Skate Cheek […]



Leave a Reply

