Marrow and ginger tarte tatin

marrow and ginger tarte tatin

Where do you draw the line between sweet and savory? I know some don’t like fruit with savory at all whilst some love it. I love the hot and sweet/sweet and sour combinations but the balance is a fine line.

I had never thought of tarte tatin as a savory dish until I went to The Ninth in London and had Chef Jun Tanaka’s amazing beetroot tarte tatin. I got so inspired I made one and it is absolutely delicious, here is my recipe.

This time I was faced with a massive marrow. I should clarify that I call all overgrown squashes marrows and this one started out as a spaghetti squash. It grew in peace on the allotment, hidden away and all of the sudden it seemed to be just there. M carried it home, with some pride I must admit. I couldn’t stop laughing, it was bigger than the dog! I had to take a photo of them.

 

dog and marrow

 

I wasn’t quite sure where to start but I thought it might work as a tarte tatin. It needed a flavour boost and ginger and marrow works great together. You will need a good cast iron skillet to cook the tarte tatin in.

 

The marrow was actually an overgrown spaghetti squash, as I discovered when I cut into it. I don’t mind squashes getting big, the flavor is still there but the texture is slightly different.

 

spaghetti squash

 

Marrow and ginger tarte tatin

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 20-25 minutes 

oven 180C or 356F 

Serves 6-8

Ingredients

  • Marrow, I used 2 rounds of the big one on the picture above but a small marrow would be fine
  • a piece of ginger, peeled and cut julienne (fine match stick sized)
  • a little oil
  • puff pastry
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup of water

Peel the marrow and cut it in chunks. Steam it for three minutes.

Heat the oil in the pan and add the ginger. Let it cook for a few minutes and then add the sugar and the water. Don’t stir but gently swirl the pan if necessary and let the sugar caramelize. Cook until the water has evaporated.

Place the marrow chunks in the caramel and cut out a round, slightly larger than the pan to cover. Cut a cross in the middle to let out some steam and cook until the pastry has risen and is cooked through, about 20 minutes.

 

marrow and ginger tarte tatin

 

Let the tarte tatin cool down a bit before turning it over.

 

marrow and ginger tarte tatin

I cut the tarte tatin in to 8 portions and found that this was plenty per person. The ginger cut through the caramel and added a nice kick to the dish.

It was a great dish to make and as we just discovered a new mega marrow I know I will make more of them!

 

I am taking my tarte tatin to share with my friends at Fiesta Friday, as always hosted by the lovely Angie and this week we have a treat! Elaine, Foodbod and Michelle O Blog Off are co hosting, we are in for a great party!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Marrow and ginger tarte tatin”
  1. I love the photo with your dog! Brilliant! And I love the idea of savoury tatins 🙂
    Thank you for bringing your dishes to Fiesta Friday xx

  2. Haha! I Can’t believe it’s bigger than your dog 🙂 This dish sounds amazing!!

  3. Michelle says:

    What a great story!
    I love those hidden gems in the garden!
    Last year I had a cucumber so big it filled 3 pint jars! 😀
    Thanks for bringing this delicious dish to Fiesta Friday!
    Yum!
    Michelle

    • petra08 says:

      hi Michelle
      I am so sorry your comment got stuck in the spam folder 😦 Apologies for late reply!
      I have no idea how something so big could hide but it did! And it is a lovely surprise 🙂
      Your cucumber sounds amazing! 🙂 Happy FF!

  4. What a lovely and simple wait to use that gigantic squash. I bet it was delicious!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Zeba
      Thank you! The tarte tatin worked so well! The ginger helped counter act the sugar and the marrow and ginger is a lovely combination 🙂

  5. FarmerFi says:

    I LOVE tarte tatin, but also had never thought of a savoury version. Will bear this in mind for our marrow season!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Fi
      This is a hit with anyone I serve it to! It can be sweet or savory, great with pork or chicken but am sure it would work with icecream as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

