Tasmanian olive leaf tea jelly tricolore salad

Olive leaf tea and tricolore salad

Lately I have eaten food that is too heavy and too much meat. I didn’t mean to but with the weather getting colder it seemed to trigger a need for hip hugging foods.

I think I went slightly too far and needed something light and fresh, pronto! I thought of a salad when I saw the last of the edible flowers at the allotment. I picked the ones I could find, flowers makes food look so incredible don’t they? Next year I will grow many more flowers for eating and decorating.

I found some borage, I love the flower but the edible leaves have a most peculiar taste. I found a brave chive flower in bloom and some fennel. It got colder but apparently not cold enough for the plants to believe that winter is coming.

 

edible flowers boarge, chive, fennel

 

I had one more sachet of the Tasmanian olive leaf tea from Freshfield Grove. I got it out and found a jar of olives and was curious how it would work together. I seem to get so inspired by this tea, thank you again Fi for letting me try some!

 

Last time I made a very loose jelly and this time I decided to make a firmer jelly and place it at the bottom of the salad so that when you start eating it, the tea would run through every bite.

My original idea was to make a tricolore salad so this was the base and hence the slightly long name.

 

Tasmanian Olive leaf tea jelly tricolore salad 

preparation time 10 minutes + setting for the jelly 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup Tasmanian olive leaf tea
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup olives, sliced
  • 8 mozzarella pearls (small balls of mozzarella or 1 large)
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 avocado, cubed
  • a few walnuts, chopped
  • basil leaves
  • olive oil
  • strawberry vinegar
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • fennel fronds
  • a few edible flowers (optional)

Mix the tea with agar agar according to the package. Pour onto a plate and leave in the fridge to set. I left it for an hour and it was perfect.

I built the salad on top starting with the mozzarella and finished with a few drops of olive oil, a drizzle of strawberry vinegar and a sprinkle of sea salt.

 

Tasmanian Olive leaf tea jelly tricolore salad

 

The flavor of the olive leaf tea together with the olives was amazing. It made a regular (but delicious) tricolore salad much more interesting. The olive leaf tea jelly and the olives were great together and the jelly added a depth of olive flavor to the salad that I really enjoyed.

 

I am bringing this dish, even if late, to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday just in case someone wants something a bit lighter. This week is has two very talented co hosts, Judi, Cooking With aunt JuJu and Maggie, Spoon in a Saucepan. Judi has made a big batch of apple sauce, what a treat! Maggie has made a Warm spicy butternut squash couscous salad with pistachios, have a look and get inspired!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
25 Responses to “Tasmanian olive leaf tea jelly tricolore salad”
  1. Becky Ellis says:

    Such a beautiful bright salad, like a work of art!

  2. What a lovely salad Petra. I agree about the use of edible flowers and just don’t use them enough even though they are in my garden. I just checked; lavender, rosemary, borage, calendula, dill and chrysanthemum still have flowers and it’s almost November. Enjoy your week and thanks for sharing with Fiesta Friday 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      Next year I will grow more edible flowers! I have already started to buy seeds! I agree it is so mild out it is just beautiful! Happy FF and thank yo for co hosting 🙂

  3. Loretta says:

    What a delicious looking salad Petra. Definitely art on a plate, too good to be devoured 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you! I know, I am glad I captured it beforehand but I ate it quicker than what it took me to assemble it! 🙂

  4. What a beautiful, elegant salad! Amazing dish!

  5. Maggie says:

    How pretty! I love the combination of flavours and the flowers look so good 🙂 I’ve never heard of olive leaf tea but it sounds so interesting and a great way to make a unique tricolore salad. Thanks for sharing with us at Fiesta Friday. I hope you’d a good time at our party.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Maggie
      I had never heard of this tea before I read Fi’s blog and I was intrigued! It has a lovely flavor both to drink and it was interesting to use it in food.
      Have a great week and Happy FF! 🙂

  6. FarmerFi says:

    Love borage flowers and have used them in ice cubes, but never thought to eat chive flowers! I’ve made a herbal infusion from borage leaves which tasted pretty good. Thanks for all this inspiration, and for giving me so many ideas of things I could do with my olive leaf tea 😃

    • petra08 says:

      hi Fi
      Borage flowers are stunning! I had a bite of a boarge leaf but it might not have been the right way to go about, your approach of making an infusion sounds much more sensible!
      Your tea is amazing and sits in that perfect place being on the edge of savory. The slightly more set jelly was wonderful with the olive oil and the sliced olives, it was like three different hits of olive flavor and they worked so well with the salad.
      Thank you again for the samples and have a great week! 🙂 .

      • FarmerFi says:

        I need to get some agar and have play with it! Because I’ve only been having it as a drink, I hadn’t thought about how the flavour could combine with either the oil or the fruit! You’ve really got me thinking 😊 Re borage, I’m sure I’ve seen that the cucumber-ish flavours work really well with gin, and it’d probably be good with Pimm’s too?

      • petra08 says:

        Oh I am sure it will work with fruit as well! The olive flavor is so delicate I am sure it would be a wonderful addition! Am glad I could inspire you a little.
        I did actually find some Italian olive leaf tea, very random, at my local newsagent. They had stumbled across this tea and just liked it and decided to stock it but I have never seen it before.
        I see, interesting, maybe borage infused olive oil would be nice? Ahhh the possibilities are endless! ha ha 🙂 x

      • FarmerFi says:

        So many possibilities and so little time 😜

      • petra08 says:

        I know that feeling! 🙂

  7. FarmerFi says:

    Reblogged this on Freshfield Grove and commented:
    Here’s another inspiring recipe creation from Petra at FoodEatLove using my olive leaf tea as a jelly for a base in this very pretty salad. I think the jelly will add a really interesting texture to the dish, as well as the flavour. And it’s reminded me not to forget edible flowers when I’m planning my new veggie patch this spring 😊

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you for such a lovely comment! Next year I will have lots of edible flowers but this morning w had the first every so slight frost bite! 🙂

  8. Michelle says:

    Petra-
    Your photography is stunning!
    This salad looks like it deserves front page on a magazine!
    I bet it was delicious!
    Thanks
    Michelle

    • petra08 says:

      hi Michelle
      Thank you so much! I am glad you like it! I got so inspired by the tea! It did taste good and I love the olive flavour running through from the jelly, the olive oil and the sliced olives! An olive tricolore salad 🙂
      Have a great weekend!

  9. Lily says:

    What a beautiful salad! Looks like something from 5 star restaurant and very creative with the tea jelly:)

  10. wow!!! beautiful presentation!!!

Leave a Reply

