16 hr slow baked apple tart with almond and hazelnut crumble

slow baked apple tart with almond crumble

Sometimes when I read a recipe I just know that I have to make it. This is what happened when I came across a recipe for an apple tart, slow baked, light and fresh, it sounded irresistible. The recipe comes from the Swedish cookbook Klassiska desserter : på mitt vis by Magnus Johansson. Translated it says Classic desserts my way and it converts even a non sweet tooth like myself to wanting to make, and eat desserts!

I love apple crumble but it can be a bit heavy after a meal so when I found this recipe it looked perfect. I have made some slight adjustments so here is my version. It cooks for sixteen hours but once it is in the oven you don’t have to do anything else. I prepared it in the afternoon and left it there to the following morning. The apples are still crispy and the low and slow cooking brings out the natural sweetness of the apple.

The most important thing is to use crispy apples. I found some locally grown Cox apples that were perfect. They are so delicious with quite an acidity without being too tart. They are very firm and are perfect cooked this way.

Cox apples

You will need one good sized apple per person.

Slow baked apple tart

preparation time 15 -20 minutes 

cooking time 16 hours 

oven 60C or 140F

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 4 good sized apples, peeled with the core cut out
  • 1/4 dl or 1/8 cup golden caster sugar
  • zest of 1/2 lemon

Dress the cake tin with cling film and leave enough to fold over. Slice the apple thinly, I used a mandolin to slice them evenly. Layer the apple in a cake tin. This is probably the most time consuming element but it will well worth it.

layered sliced apples

Add the sugar and lemon zest.

sugared layered sliced apple

Cover with cling film and wrap it tightly. Place it in the oven and leave it there for 16 hours.

Let the apple cool slightly and make the crumble. The original recipe called for almond only but I added ground hazelnuts as well as I really like them. This recipe gives you more crumble than you can place on top but it tastes so good just serve them on the side if anyone would like some more.

 

Almond and hazelnut crumble

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15-20 minutes 

oven 175C or 347F 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 100 gr 3.5 oz butter at room temperature
  • 50 gr or 1.75 oz ground almond
  • 50 gr or 1.75 oz ground hazelnut
  • 90 gr or 3.2 oz plain flour
  • a pinch of salt

Place all the ingredients in a bowl and mix it. I find it easier to do with my hand than any of my kitchen equipment. The texture should be crumbly. If there is too much butter add a bit more flour.

Spread the crumble on a baking tray that is lined with parchment paper. Place in the oven and keep an eye on it the whole time. My oven is quite uneven and I need to stir it almost throughout the whole process.

The last thing to do, and my favorite part is to make sure the crumble is ready, taste it!

Let the crumble cool.

Trim the apple if you wish and place on a plate. Spoon over as much crumble as would fit. I last added a sprig of mint and I like mint and apple and served it with cream on the side.

slow baked apple tart with almond crumble

 

 

 

The tart doesn’t have a lot of color but the taste is amazing. The slow bake really brings out the apple flavor and you have a super light dessert where the sweetness mainly comes from the apples own sweetness. I am sure that must be good for you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
16 Responses to “16 hr slow baked apple tart with almond and hazelnut crumble”
  1. Wow! 16 hours??? That must really bring out the flavour? I wonder if I could do it without any sugar at all? Maybe use my favourite pink lady apples?

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Elaine
      I am sure that pink lady would work! Cox apples are very tart so I used a little sugar but I am not sure it is needed if you are using sweeter apples. I would say don’t skip the lemon zest, it adds a wonderful flavour and makes the kitchen smell lovely.
      I am sure you will make a wonderful version! 🙂

  2. So much love goes into this with 16 hours of cooking time – I would so enjoy this and like Elaine I’d be keen to omit the refined sugar 😌

  3. Wow such a delicate and dainty dessert! Awesome work, Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Cecilia
      Thank you! It was absolutely worth the time it took to cook it (even if I slept during large parts of it!) 🙂

  4. paintdigi says:

    Very Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.wordpress.com

  5. chefkreso says:

    Looks amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

