Sourdough beer and miso beef stew

Sourdough beer, miso and beef stew with bulgur wheat salad

Winter has arrived, It is time to get the big jackets out, the woolly hat and even the gloves. The days are beautiful but the winds are cold and I love to go out, all wrapped up along the seafront.

 

seafont

 

Cold weather brings me a great desire for hearty and warm foods. A visit to the Black Pig Butchers and bought some shin of beef. The first time I bought some I didn’t cook it long enough and it was horrible, and I can only describe it as inedible. After the first complete disaster I did my homework. When cooked long enough, I usually allow five hours, you are rewarded with amazing meat, very tender and full of flavor.

 

I did another stop, we have a lovely record shop selling vinyl records and artisan beer, Smugglers Records. You can actually go there and enjoy a beer on site, have a chat, look for a record and browse the beers.

I found a sourdough beer by the Wild Beer Co that I had to try. The beer was described as “lively” and I have to admit it it really was. The sour really came through and a friend of mine described it as alka seltzer and he wasn’t far off. It wasn’t a drinking beer for me but I thought it would be perfect to cook with.

 

sourdough beer from the Wild Beer Co

 

I decided to use the sourdough beer to cook the beef but I needed something to counter the sour with and tried miso paste and the recipe below was born.

 

Sourdough beer and miso beef stew

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 5 hours

oven 140C or 284F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 350 gr or 12.4 oz braising beef, I used shin of beef
  • 1 bottle of Sourdough beer, 330 ml or 1.39 cups
  • water, same amount as beer
  • 2 onions, peeled and cut in half
  • 3 celery sticks, cut in to chunks
  • 1 large or 2 medium beetroots, peeled and cut in to chunks
  • 2 rashes of smoked bacon, sliced
  • 3 tbsp miso (more to taste if wished)
  • 1 tsp black and green peppercorns, mixed
  • pomegranate seeds for garnish

Add all of the ingredients in an ovenproof dish with a lid, I used one of my cast iron pots.

Place in the oven and leave it for about three hours.
sourdough beer and miso beef stew

 

Take the stew out and taste the cooking liquid, add more miso if you need. I ended up adding another tablespoon for flavor. There is no salt in this dish but the miso will add this to the dish.

Put the stew back in to the oven and leave it for another couple of hours until the meat is tender and the flavor of the miso, the beer, the vegetable and the beef has come together.

 

I did a bulgur wheat salad to go with the beef stew.

 

Bulgur wheat salad

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 5 minutes boiling + 15-20 minutes resting

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 dl or 3/4 cup cracked bulgur wheat
  • 3 dl or 1 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 savoy cabbage
  • 1/4 sharon fruit, cubed
  • about 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup sliced leek
  • 4 sliced radishes
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Place the bulgur wheat, chicken stock and the sliced cabbage in a pan and bring to a boil. Let boil for 5 minutes and the turn it off and let stand, lid on for 15-20 minutes.

Mix the remaining ingredient with the cooked bulgur wheat before serving.

 

Plate up the bulgur wheat salad, the beef stew and garnish with pomegranate seeds.

 

Sourdough beer, miso and beef stew with bulgur wheat salad

 

The sourdough beer and the miso worked magic together. The beef stew was light but had lovely depths of flavor. It was a great winter warmer and light with the bulgur wheat salad.

 

I am bringing this to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday as it is too good not to share! Come and join us, share something delicious or just browse and get inspired!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
16 Responses to “Sourdough beer and miso beef stew”
  1. Michelle says:

    Petra sounds like such a flavorful meal!
    I love how you turned a beer that wasn’t great for drinking into a beer that’s great for cooking!
    The record shop sounds fun!
    Thanks
    Michelle

    • petra08 says:

      hi Michelle
      The record shop is adorable and the selection of beers quite impressive! It was a very different beer for drinking, I just had to try it but the end result was great 🙂
      Have a great week 🙂

  2. How interesting – a sourdough beer. I am not a beer drinker but I do love to cook with it. I have used Guinness in stew which was quite good. As I am a big sourdough bread baker I must look into this unusual beer – thanks for sharing Petra.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      The beer was like no other beer I have tried before. I would guess that this would work with any beer with sour notes if you can’t find it.
      The combination of beer and miso paste is very flavorsome.

  3. I think that beer would be great to cook with but I don’t know if I would love drinking it. Yout stew looks like it was delicious.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      The beer had a unique taste of sourdough but it was perfect in cooking! Together with the miso it created a lovely depth of flavor! 🙂

  4. Shinta says:

    This sounds very interesting! I have never tried sourdough beer, so I’m very intrigued how this would taste in a miso stew. Thanks for sharing!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Shinta
      Thank you for stopping by and I am glad you like it. I have never seen sourdough beer before either and I had to buy it!
      If you wan’t to try and can’t find it I think a sour, fruity type beer would work as well, I would look at Belgian beers that are a bit more widely available 🙂

  5. I’ve heard of beer made from bread, but never tried it. That said, I love beef slow cooked in beer anytime. That and miso as well, the umami must be off the charts! Love it!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Matt
      Thank you! Am glad you like it! The sourness in the beer (you can absolutely taste the sourdough) works really well with the beef and the added miso makes magic! You are so right, umami all the way! 🙂

  6. petra08 says:

    hi Chef Ceaser
    I hope all is good with you! Thank you so much for the re blog! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] via Sourdough beer and miso beef stew — Food Eat Love […]



Leave a Reply

