Wasabi and salmon herbed roll with persimmon salsa

wasabi and salmon herbed roll with persimon salsa

Before I knew it the persimmon season arrived. Both green grocers had them in abundance. A friend of mine just adores them so this recipe is for her. Last time we met, sadly way too long ago, she baked them in the oven and served them with cheese. It was a revelation as I have previously just sliced them and eaten them. They are lovely as they are but they have to be ripe so you get the sweetness.

The one I bought was bigger than anyone I have seen before and I just had to get one.

 

persimmon fruit

 

I bought the persimmon on my Saturday round at the shops. I had some smoked salmon from the fishmongers and a new recipe that I wanted to try. After I had eaten a piece of the persimmon fruit I thought it would make a nice salsa and add some freshness to the dish. In the end I made canapes and they have already made it on to the Christmas menu!

 

The original recipe is a smoked salmon roulade from Delicious Magazine. I did the herbed pancake, slightly different and used the smoked salmon but changed the filling. I will list the ingredients for the pancake but not the measures as the recipe is not on  their website.

I love this recipe as you can prepare most of it and simply throw it together just before serving.

 

Herbed pancake 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time about 10 minutes, or until set and slightly golden 

oven 200C/392F for a standard oven or 180C/356F for a fan oven

serves 4 as a canapes

Ingredients

  • vegetable oil for greasing
  • plain flour
  • bicarobonae soda
  • salt
  • egg
  • milk
  • dill
  • coriander/cilantro

Mix the pancake batter and pour in to a shallow, lined and greased tin, about 22×33 cm/8.6×13 inch.

Pour in the batter and bake until golden and set. make sure not to over bake it. Let cool on wire rack and gently peel off the grease proof paper.

 

herbed pancake

 

Whilst the pancake is cooking make the wasabi cream and persimmon salsa.

 

Persimmon salsa

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 persimmon, also called sharon fruit
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 red chilli, sliced fine

Cut the persimmon in to small cubes. Mix with the chilli and the lemon juice and set aside until you are ready to use it.

 

Wasabi cream

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves, enough for canapes for 4

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 4 tbsp light fraiche
  • 1 heaped tsp wasabi
  • chopped dill
  • chopped coriander

Mix all of the ingredients. Taste if you need more wasabi. set aside until you are ready to use it.

 

Spread the wasabi cream and the persimmon salsa on to the cooled pancake.

 

herbed pancake with wasabi cream and persimmon salsa

 

Add thin slices of smoked salmon and roll the pancake. Use a toothpick to keep them together and last add a bit more persimmon salsa before serving.

 

wasabi and smoked salmon roll with persimmon salsa

 

wasabi and salmon herbed roll with persimon salsa

 

The lemon brought out the persimmon flavor and and it worked very well with the salmon and wasabi. I got three persimmon fruits for a pound and I ate the rest simply sliced with cheese and wondered why I don’t eat them more often.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
20 Responses to “Wasabi and salmon herbed roll with persimmon salsa”
  1. Very fancy Petra – looks like something straight from the kitchen of a top restaurant!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Laura
      Oh thank you for your lovely comment! They are so easy to make, am happy to send you the recipe in full if you want to have a go! 🙂

  2. heenie says:

    looks so beautiful

    • petra08 says:

      hi Patrick
      Sorry for late response, your comment got stuck in the spam folder and I just spotted it, my apologies!
      Thank you! 🙂

  3. How very cool, I’ve never considered that flavour combination before. I love all those flavours, so I’m thinking this might make a good canapé at Christmas!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Matt
      I wasn’t sure, I cut up some persimmon and added a little of the wasabi cream and salmon I have to admit before putting it all together. The sweetness of the persimmon is quite subtle and it goes well with savory foods.
      It will absolutely be great at Christmas and I will do them at my Christmas pop up as well! Good food needs to be shared 🙂

  4. Michelle says:

    WOW Petra!
    Truly amazing! These are gorgeous!
    Thanks for co-hosting!
    Happy Fiesta Friday!
    Michelle

    • petra08 says:

      hi Michelle
      Thank you! I love to find new ways and flavors for canapes!
      Co hosting is my pleasure and I always look forward to reading the posts that you bring! 🙂 Have a great weekend Petra x

  5. I love your herb pancake – I’m thinking about all kinds of ways to use it. I always eat fresh salmon and never think to eat smoked – this is an elegant appetizer any time of the year. Thanks for co-hosting 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      Let me know if you want the full recipe, it was so easy to make and perfect for the holidays! I love salmon but thinking about it I think smoked salmon is most likely the one I eat the least. Like you I love it fresh and I adore salmon sushi but it is great cooked almost in any shape! 🙂

  6. Such a gorgeous and stunning dish! I need to give this a try 🙂

  7. nancyc says:

    This sounds so good and what a beautiful presentation!

  8. Lily says:

    OMG everything you make is like a work of art! You seriously need to open up a restaurant in Vegas:)

  9. Interesting side not on Persimmon being called Sharon fruit. In the deep south of the US Persimmon was once used as a joke to be played on “Yankees”. Given to taste before ripe the astringent nature of the fruit makes the taster have an bad experience when it is bitten into. Since this fruit is not well known in the North East many people feel prey to this, not so kind, joke.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Daniel
      Thank you for stopping by! Persimmon is also sold as Sharon fruit here. I didn’t know about the Yankee/sharon fruit joke!
      have a good week ahead!

Leave a Reply

