Fish sauce, chilli and maple candied pork belly

Fish sauce, maple suryp and chile candied pork belly

I believe that everyone has some foodie weakness. For many it is chocolate or bacon. For me, I am a complete cheese addict and am always a sucker for some pork belly, what is yours?

If you only cook low fat, healthy and low in sugar and salt food, please stop reading now. This is so naughty it might make a nutritionist faint but so good I can’t help but think the happy factor must counter this in some way. If you are going to be bad, just do it but not very often! At least that is what I was thinking before tucking in as some kind of justification.

 

It all started the other day when I watched a food program about Vietnamese street food. It was very simple, they barbecued pork after marinating it in fish sauce, sugar and honey. The caramelized pork looked so good I knew I would have to make some, and very soon.

I had a pork belly in the fridge that I had planned to slow cook. Watching the program made me crave caramelized pork instead. Somehow in my mind I was thinking of a slight caramelized pork, it turned out to be something sensationally different and I can’t describe it as anything but candied pork. I thought sugar and honey would be too sweet and opted for Maple syrup instead. Still sweet but I like the depth of flavor it adds.

 

Fish sauce, maple and chilli candied pork 

preparation time 15 minutes + minimum 4 hour marinade, over night is better

cooking time a few minutes 

oven set on highest heat and grill, if you have a fan oven do both

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 650 gr or 23 oz pork belly, skin removed and sliced thinly
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup fish sauce
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup demerara, raw cane sugar
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 4 red chillies, sliced, seeds in

Whisk the fish sauce, sugar and maple syrup until the sugar has dissolved and add the sliced chilli.

 

fish sauce marinade

 

Add the sliced pork.

 

sliced pork belly

 

Make sure the marinade covers the meat and leave in the fridge for a minimum of 4 hours but over night if you can.

Heat the oven and lay the pork slices on a lined roasting tray. Let cook and watch it like a hawk. The pork should caramelize but not burn and it can be a fine line. It will bubble away whilst cooking, it will look something like this.

 

I added some pineapple that I had sprinkled with cayenne pepper under the grill as well. The dish needed something to cut through the rich pork. I did a sauce that I placed at the bottom of the plate from soy sauce, mirin, rice wine vinegar and grated ginger, here is the recipe, but you can also just taste your way with the ingredients.

I placed the grilled pineapple and candied pork on the soy based dipping sauce.

 

fish sauce maple and chile candied pork

 

Sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve with rice.

 

Fish sauce, maple suryp and chile candied pork belly

 

I had a little bit of the pork left over, or actually that I had set aside so I used it in a roll with a guaccamole and hot sauce, yum!

 

roll with guaccamole, candied pork and hot sauce

 

When I made the marinade I didn’t realize quite how much the pork would caramelize but it was delicious, the kind of dish you don’t want to end when you are eating it and there is always room for “one more slice”. I will save the recipe but this is only for very special occasions. Luckily Christmas is just around the corner!

I am bringing some of this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday  This week Angie has two pf my favorite bloggers as co hosts, Hilda, Along the Grapevine who is sharing her foraging bounties with us. Julianna, Foodie on Board creates mouthwatering dishes that are irresistible.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Fish sauce, chilli and maple candied pork belly”
  1. Hilda says:

    What a fabulous recipe! I think naughty can be overlooked when it is what I call ‘real’ food, and this is definitely real. I have just found a local source of really good organic pork, and as I haven’t cooked it much recently I am always on the lookout for interesting recipes. I never would have thought of caramelizing it, but I do know I would love it. I look forward to your next recipe using the rest of the meat too.

  2. Shut up and take my money!

    Seriously though, this looks so good.

  3. chefjulianna says:

    Wow, Petra! This sounds so amazing! I may just have to make a recipe for Christmas too!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Fish Sauce, Chilli and Maple Candied Pork Belly from Petra at Food, Eat, Love […]



Leave a Reply

