Raw Hot Sauce

chilli peppers and sea salt

The other day I got a present, and my kind as well. A friend of mine had bought me a bag of Mexican chili peppers. The bag didn’t have a name on it so if you know what kind they are let me know.

 

chiles

 

I tasted one and at first they are quite hot but not painfully hot, you know what I mean? Once the heat had subsided I instantly wanted more! They are a perfect bite and quite addictive.

 

I saved some of the seeds for next year and can’t wait to grow some.

My first thought was to make a curry using the chili peppers but I think it would be too hot for M so I decided to preserve them by making a hot sauce. I wanted to save the flavor as much as possible and here is my recipe for a super easy, raw hot sauce.

 

Raw hot sauce 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves makes a small jar 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup chili peppers
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp agave nectar (honey or sugar will work as well)
  • olive oil

Grind the chili peppers and sea salt with a pestle and mortar.

 

chilli peppers and sea salt

 

I choose to grind the chili peppers by hand instead of using my electric spice grinder as I wanted it slightly coarse.

When the chili peppers start to come together add the agave nectar and rice wine vinegar. Grind the mixture some more and add olive oil to loosed it up a bit. Once you are happy place the raw hot sauce in a clean and sterilized jar. Cover the top with more olive oil and add the lid. Keep it in the fridge.

 

raw hot sauce

It was a small jar but it tasted amazing. I think I will save it for a Mexican evening, a little will go a long way.

I had some that wouldn’t fit in to the jar so I made myself a poached egg and avocado sandwich with hot sauce for lunch.

 

poached egg and avocado sandwich with raw hot sauce

 

The hot sauce still had that addictive heat and it was great with the smooth avocado and the egg and it made me think of a breakfast burrito I had in a Mexican restaurant in Texas. I think I need that Mexican evening soon!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Raw Hot Sauce”
  1. I have no idea what the chillies are, but they look great, and your sauce looks fab!

  2. They look like they might be tepin chillies …

  3. Chypimprose says:

    Wow this is a cool post! I was wondering how to make my own hot sauce and this totally helped! Thank you for sharing! Maybe you can take a look at my blog and I’d be happy to exchange follows

    • petra08 says:

      hello
      Thank you for stopping by! This hot sauce was super easy to make and it has a nice heat but be careful with chilies that are too hot! You have a nice blog, I hope you are feeling better and am following 🙂

Leave a Reply

