Scallops two ways

scallops with rich tomato sauce

Not long ago the seasons first scallops arrived. They are big and plump and I just can’t get enough of them. I have done enough posts about scallops but what is there not to like? When they are in season they are so plentiful and we buy them at a great price.

 

I wasn’t going to buy anything, I only meant to have a chat with the fishmonger as I walked by but I ended up getting four for lunch. I have experimented with scallops but one of my favorites was scallops with mango and spring onion salsa. This time I wanted tomato sauce as a base. I had an aubergine to use up and thought the flavors would work with the scallops.

 

Rich tomato sauce 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup of passata
  • 1 tbsp Shaoxing rice wine
  • 1 tbsp white miso paste
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp Maple syrup
  • 1 shallot onion, peeled and chopped fine
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and crushed
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • oil

Place some oil in  a pan and cook the onions soft. Add the rest of the ingredients and simmer for 10 minutes. Taste to see if the seasoning is right, the tomato sauce should have a rich flavor.

 

Grind fennel seeds and Shichuan peppercorns. Oil the sliced aubergine, add the spice mixture and sea salt and fry in a griddle pan.

Pan fry the cleaned scallops and roe in butter, salt lightly and rest them for a minute before plating them with the aubergine and the tomato sauce. Last add some caper berries and fresh coriander.

 

scallops with rich tomato sauce

 

I did a scallop ceviche with a couple of the scallops.

 

Scallop ceviche

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1 scallop
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • a pinch of chilli flakes

Slice the scallop and add the lime juice and olive oil. Add sea salt and chilli flakes, let stand for at least 5 minutes before serving.

 

scallop ceviche

 

scallop ceviche

 

I liked both dishes, the ceviche had a delicate texture and flavor. The pan fried scallops with the rich tomato sauce worked really well together and gave the scallops a wintry and warm flavor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Scallops two ways”
  1. Sumith says:

    Both the dishes sounds so fabulous and vibrant!!

  2. chefjulianna says:

    Happy New Year, Petra! Both of your recipes look so delicious! I just happen to have a big bag of frozen sea scallops in my freezer right now, so I will have to try your recipes.

    All the best for you and yours in 2017! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Julianna
      Thank you! I am glad you like them, they had so many in the shops today but I managed to leave them behind.
      I hope you had a lovely time over Christmas and All the best for a very Happy 2017! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

