Langoustine ceviche surf n’ turf

Langoustine ceviche with grapefruit and salmon roe

New Years eve, what did you get up to? I like to celebrate New Years eve with friends, having dinner at home and going down to the beach at midnight and watch amazing fireworks.

 

The last couple of years we have done a New Years eve neighbor crawl, eating a dish in every house, slowly working our way towards midnight and the seafront. It is great as we can fall in to, and out of each others houses and have a great time. This year we decided to stay put in one house and everyone did a dish.

 

I was asked to do a starter. I took it very seriously, what is New Year’s eve but a great opportunity to cook something experimental and well out there?!  After thinking about it I wanted to make something from the sea as we live so close and langoustine ceviche came to mind. I wasn’t sure it would be to everyone’s taste so I thought a surf and turf would work and cater for all tastes.

Langoustines have a delicate flavor. When I was eating grapefruit for breakfast one morning it made me think that the flavor would be better to use than lime or lemon that are more commonly used for ceviche.

 

I used Spanish chorizo for the turf and thought cucumber would add freshness and bring the dish together.

 

Chorizo, sesame and cucumber rolls 

preparation time 20-30 minutes 

cooking time a few minutes to brown the chorizo and sesame seeds 

serves 8

Ingredients

  • 2 whole cucumbers
  • 1 – 1 1/2 tbsp yogurt
  • 85 gr or 3 oz chorizo, chopped fine
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds

Pan fry the chorizo and sesame seeds until the chorizo starts to go slightly crispy.

 

chorizo and sesame seeds

 

Let drain on househould tissue or on a clean jcloth.

Cut the cucumbers in half, cut the ends off and scoop out the soft flesh inside. Create ribbons using a potato peeler. Place the ribbons in a lattice pattern on a cling film base. Make 4 of them to allow half each.

 

lattice cucumber

 

Trim the edges. Mix the chorizo, sesame seeds and yogurt and add about 3 tbsp filling on each cucumber lattice square.

 

Roll the cucumber using the clingfilm and place in the fridge until serving.

 

cucumber and chorizo lattice roll

 

Langoustine ceviche with grapefruit

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 20 minutes for the grapefruit 

serves 8, 1 langoustine/pp

oven put it on highest and grill 

Ingredients

  • 8 langoustines
  • 1/2 grapefruit
  • demerara sugar, enough to be heaped on to the grapefruit

Garnish

  • salmon roe
  • dill
  • pea shoot
  • olive oil
  • broiled grapefruit

Start with the grapefruit first. Cut it in half and heap sugar over the top.

 

sugared grapefruit

 

Place under the grill for about 20 minutes until it is cooked through.

 

sugar baked grapefruit

 

Let the grapefruit cool whilst preparing the langoustines.

 

Cut an opening in each langoustine.
raw langoustine

 

Scoop out the meat and remove the intestine. Cut the meat twice, rinse the shell, dry it and place the meat back in the shell.

When this is done place the langoustines in the fridge until you are ready to plate.

 

Scoop out the grapefruit flesh in to a bowl. Add flesh and a little juice to the langoustine. Place salmon roe on top along with dill, pea shoot and last drop over some extra virgin olive oil.

 

Langoustine ceviche with grapefruit and salmon roe

 

Take the cucumber roll out of the clingfilm, add some sesame seeds and cut in half or thirds depending on how large you made the rolls.

 

chorizo and sesame cucumber lattice roll

 

Add the cucumber to the plate and serve.

 

I liked each element on their own and they worked very well together. The only thing I would change is to replace yogurt with whipped silken tofu next time for a firmer filling.

 

The main course was hot smoked shoulder of lamb with a gorgeous coffee and chilli rub, it had been smoked for about five hours and was delicious. This came with a fennel, orange and pecan nut salad, and baked potatoes with six different toppings. It was so good I have to admit I ate way too much but it was so good. I tried to take a photo but the light was terrible so I thought best not go there.

 

After the main course we went down to the beach for midnight, watched some amazing fireworks and then went back for lots of lovely cheese. The next time I looked at my watch it was 3.33 am and time to go home, a new year later than when I left!

 

I hope you had a good 2016, I am sure 2017 will bring amazing surprises and I can’t wait.

Happy 2017!

 

I am bringing this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday, the most foodie party around! I believe we might have some nice changes coming and a challenge or two! Have a look at the slightly cryptic message from lovely Angie!

Juhls, The Not So Creative Cook and Ginger, Ginger & Bread are both co hosting the first and the last Fiesta Friday of the year. Have a look at their blogs and get inspired!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
26 Responses to “Langoustine ceviche surf n’ turf”
  1. andy says:

    happy new year, Petra 🙂

  2. Petra your food is such a work of art! I love feeding friends and take it seriously too. It sounds like your group consists of some serious cooks!

  3. Ditto what Julie above wrote ! this is serious top notch cooking or ceviching rather that you came up with ! well done! Happy New Year !

    • petra08 says:

      Hello Jo
      Thank you! Am glad you like it! The flavors really worked well together and no one put their nose up! 🙂 Happy New Year! x

  4. Ginger says:

    You are amazing, Petra! I cannot believe what you can come up with – it’s just too beautiful! Happy Fiesta Friday and have a wonderful 2017!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Steffi
      Thank you so much for your amazing comment! And for co hosting Fiesta Friday! I can’t wait to see what you cook in 2017! 🙂 x

      • Ginger says:

        Nothing half as amazing as your food, I’d guess! Here’s to another year of delicious food! 🙂

      • petra08 says:

        hi Steffi
        Oh I am sure you will bake something that makes me drool again!
        So much to cook and so little time, it’s going to be a very foodie 2017 I have a feeling 🙂 x

  5. That cucumber lattice roll!! That’s definitely some serious work of art! You are an amazing chef, Petra! You should be on TV! Wishing you a fabulous new year filled with happiness, good health and luck 😘😘

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Oh you are so sweet! I am glad you like it, it was a bit fiddle but I had my mind set before I started so there was no turning back! 🙂
      Have a wonderful, foodie and very happy 2017! 🙂 xx

  6. Jhuls says:

    What a lovely presentation, Petra. Wow! I agree with Angie, you should be on TV!! 😉 Have a lovely 2017! x

  7. Sumith says:

    Hi Petra your food always amaze me, what a lovely presentation. Happy New Year!!

  8. Once in France we were served these beautiful langoustines at a charming restaurant. My hubby had to get them ready for me (remove the head and eyes) and then I really enjoyed them. LOL – I know I am a wimp! Lovely presentation Petra. The best to you in 2017!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      When I was preparing the langoustines I did remember a comment you made about the head still being on something!
      Langoustines are delicious and I glad you liked them, in Sweden we have langoustine parties with plates and plates of them and eat them with fresh bread, cheese, wine and schnapps! I do miss that sometimes 🙂 x

  9. Your food just gets more amazing!!!

  10. chefjulianna says:

    Just stunning, Petra! What a lovely dish to mark the coming of the New Year!
    Happy 2017 to you Petra! I wish you all the best for the new year!! 😀

  11. Shinta says:

    That is a stunner of a dish, very much like one of those show stoppers one sees in Masterchef! Happy New year to you! I envy the lucky friends who had these on New Year eve!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Shinta
      Thank you so much for stopping by and your lovely words! It made my day!
      I am glad you like it!
      Happy 2017! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Langoustine Ceviche Surf N’ Turf from Petra @ Food Eat Love […]



Leave a Reply

