Home made chilli oil

chilli oil, chile oil

The other day when I was researching recipes I came across homemade chilli oil. For some reason I have never really thought about making my own but as I read the recipe I knew I wouldn’t be able to resist making some.

You can find the original recipe here. It is a great blog, The Woks of Life.

I did a couple of tweaks to the recipe and you can find my version below.

 

We had a bumper chili crop this year. I dried most of them and I got my spice grinder out.

 

Homemade chilli oil

Preparation time 15 minutes

Cooking time 30 mins + 5 minutes for cooling

Makes 3 dl or 1 ½ cup

Ingredients

  • 3 dl vegetable oil, I used rapeseed oil
  • 5 star anise
  • 3 tbsp Sichuan peppercorns
  • 3 fresh bay leaves
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tbsp fennel seeds
  • 5 cloves
  • 1 heaped tsp sea salt
  • 1 1/2 dl or 3/4 cup crushed chilli

Place the oil, bay leaves, Sichuan peppercorns, fennel seeds, the cinnamon stick, star anise and cloves in a pan and gently bring the oil to simmer.

 

Oil with spices

 

Let the oil simmer for 30 minutes.

 

Crush the chillis and place in a heat proof bowl. Add the sea salt.

 

Crushed chilli and sea salt

 

Let the oil cool for 5 minutes and strain through a fine mesh sieve on to the chilli flakes and the sea salt.

 

chili oil

 

chilli oil

 

Pour the chilli and the oil in to an air tight jar and let cool completely.

 

chilli oil, chile oil

 

Keep in the fridge, it will keep up to 6 months. The oil had a nice kick even before it cooled down and I couldn’t resist trying some whilst still warm.

I had some scallops that I pan fried in butter for a couple of minutes and I then added dill and a teaspoon of the oil.

 

butter fried scallops with dill and chili oil

 

It was delicious and I can’t wait to use it more, it is addictive!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
14 Responses to “Home made chilli oil”
  1. jackcollier7 says:

    cool Petra, I think I’ll try this. ❤

  2. Monika says:

    This recipe sounds so good! You’ve used wonderful spices which sound really nice together!

  3. Wow Petra my husband will love this – he makes chilli oil with simply olive oil and chilli so I’ll be sharing your extravagant version with him!

  4. Yes! I want to make this 😀😀

  5. panandnell says:

    I will try this recipe, we love spicy chili!

    • petra08 says:

      Hello, I love this oil and can’t stop putting it on pretty much everything! I hope you make it and that you will like it as much as I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

