Beetroot pasta with pheasant, beetroot and feta cheese

beetroot pasta with pheasant and feta cheese

There was a knock on the door and I found one of my neighbor standing there with a couple of pheasants. I actually saw the pheasants before I saw my neighbor Dennis.

Dennis has a friend who hunts and pheasants were so plentiful they gave him some and he very generously gave me a couple of his. Pheasant tastes like a just slightly gamey chicken and it is delicious. The thing is that there are feathers between me and that meat, and guts, and heads and feet – they are fully dressed.

 

pheasants

 

Dennis has given me pheasants before so I knew how delicious they are and that they are worth the effort. Last time I served them with a thyme and raspberry vinegar and it was delicious., you can see the post here. This time I wanted to use the meat in a pasta dish.

 

I called another neighbor to share this with, she cleared an afternoon, we took a bird each and got to work after she had stroked the birds and marveled at the soft and beautiful feathers. We had a great catch up as it takes time, I have no idea how the professionals can do it so quickly!

 

I wanted pasta to go with the pheasant and decided to use beetroot to add color. A while back I used watercress to make a green pasta dough, you can see the recipe here.

 

Beetroot pasta

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time, if plain 1-2 minutes

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sized beetroot
  • 150 gr or 5.3 oz 00 flour
  • 50 gr or 1.76 oz semolina
  • 1 whole egg and 1 egg yolk

Boil the beetroot whole. Peel it, cut it in to chunks and puree it.

 

beetroot puree

 

Mix flour and semolina and place on a clean surface. Make a hollow in the middle and add the egg. Mix the dough with your fingers and after a few minutes add the beetroot puree.

Mix until it all comes together. I had to add a bit of flour to the dough as the watercress had a tiny bit of water in it. Knead the dough to get the gluten going and until smooth. Let the dough rest for an hour at room temperature or place it, covered, I use a plastic bag, in the fridge if you have time to rest it for longer.

 

beetroot colored pasta dough

 

Cut the pasta dough into four pieces and work with one at the time, keeping the rest in the bag so it won’t dry out. Roll the pasta. I have a pasta machine and I find rolling it by hand takes a lot longer and it is difficult to get it thin enough but it is possible.

I rolled it thin and cut papardelle shaped pasta by hand, wide strands of pasta.

I had roasted the pheasant, there was enough for two meals and used some of the roasted breast meat with the pasta.

 

Pheasant papardelle 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 2 -3 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • fresh pasta, or enough pasta for 2
  • 1 cooked breast of pheasant (chicken would work as well)
  • olive oil
  • feta cheese
  • sliced, cooked beetroot
  • truffle oil
  • lemon zest
  • chives
  • sea salt
  • ground black pepper

Prepare the ingredients, shred the cooked breast, crumble the feta cheese and cut the chive. Place the pasta in boiling, salted water, it will cook in a couple of minutes. Drain the pasta and mix it with some olive oil. Plate up and add the pheasant, sliced beetroot, feta cheese and chives. Add a few drops of truffle oil, lemon zest, sea salt and black pepper before serving.

 

beetroot pasta with pheasant, feta cheese and chives

 

The dish was full of flavor. The truffle and lemon worked really well with the pheasant and the pasta. I love game and pheasant has deliciously mild flavor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
17 Responses to “Beetroot pasta with pheasant, beetroot and feta cheese”
  1. Hilda says:

    I have never had pheasant before, but I imagine it is delectable as are all wild fowl I have tried. I congratulate you on creating yet another super original dish.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda
      The flavor is not far off fowl, it is quite mild. It is an active bird so the legs need separate and much longer cooking.
      Thank you, am glad you like it. I hope you have a great weekend 🙂

  2. Monika says:

    I’ve never cooked pheasant before, sounds intriguing! I really like the addition of beetroot in this recipe. Thanks for sharing with FF:)

    • petra08 says:

      hi Monika
      I love to add vegetables everywhere, I will have a think as the pasta lost a little bit of color when boiling but it tasted ok!
      Cooking the pheasant was the easy part! ha ha but it was worth it as it is delicious 🙂

  3. Absolutely delicious Petra. Love pheasant, the texture is delicious. Childhood memories! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Linda
      Pheasant is delicious! My cbhildhood memories cover moose and reindeer rather than pheasant! Glad you like it and I hope you are enjoying the weekend 🙂

  4. chefjulianna says:

    I sure hope that one of your New Year’s plans is to start a cookbook, Petra, because your recipes just keep getting better and better! I will buy a copy for sure! This looks lovely! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you! I have thought about it and perhaps it is time to do it! Thank you for saying it! 🙂 x

  5. What a beautiful dish. We used to have fresh pheasant growing up in the country but never seem to get it now. It is a lot of work to clean and I love that you took advantage of the chore to catch up with your neighbor!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Well, she wasn’t all too impressed whilst gutting it but we had a good laugh! I don’t see it for sale very often but they are apparently very plentiful around here so will keep my fingers crossed some more will come my way at some point! I am glad you like the dish 🙂

  6. Sounds awesome! I haven’t had pheasant in a long time. Great recipe.

  7. I can’t comment on the pheasant but the pasta looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

