Italian flavors, mozzarella and vegetable bake

Cheesy Italian vegetable bake

We had a bit of a warm spell lately. It has given us a taste of spring and I can’t wait. Each season has it’s charm when it comes to food. This week some warm weather arrived and it felt like spring in the air. Spring brings new seasons vegetables, asparagus, broad beans, wild garlic just to mention a few and even the short spell of warm weather brought my thoughts to vegetables and Italian flavors.

Do you have a favorite spring vegetable? Something worth waiting for? For me I think it is broad beans, they come early, are so vibrant in color and brings a taste of summer to come.

 

The flavor I was mainly after this time was basil. I brought a courgette, tomatoes and fresh basil. I passed the cheese section on my way out and couldn’t resits a buffalo mozzarella as well. I wanted a truly simple dish and sometimes they are the best.

 

Mozzarella and vegetable bake 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10-15 minutes 

oven 210 C or 410F 

serves 1 as a main course or two as a starter or side dish

Ingredients

  • 1 small buffalo mozzarella
  • 1 small courgette
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 bunch of fresh basil
  • a sprinkle of chilli flakes
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • sea salt to taste

Slice the mozzarella, courgette and tomatoes. Layer the dish, courgette, tomato, 1 basil leaf and mozzarella. sprinkle over chilli and sea salt before baking until the mozzarella is melted, soft and very cheesy!

 

Italian vegetable bake

 

Sprinkle more fresh basil leaves on top before serving.

 

Cheesy Italian vegetable bake

 

I ate the dish with rustic bread on the side to mop up the juices. I have to admit it was just a dish for one and what a perfect dinner. I can’t wait for the tomato season to start and for the herbs to grow in the garden again, I think I am ready for summer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Italian flavors, mozzarella and vegetable bake”
  1. Loretta says:

    Lovely, it’s been spring like here too and I can’t wait to get those veggies growing in the garden. Love your nice simple salad, there’s nothing quite like fresh basil to elevate a dish.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      The winter feels like it has been going on for so long now, even just one warm day makes me feel soo ready for spring!
      We are about to stock up on seeds, it is so exciting 🙂

  2. chefkreso says:

    So simple but fresh and tasty 😍

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.