Crab and chill stuffed leek canelloni

crab and chili stuffed leek canelloni

After my leek tarte tatin I was thinking of how I could highlight the leek and as I was out walking I thought I would do stuffed leek. The second thought was what to stuff it with. This morning I got my shopping bag and went out in search of inspiration.

The answer came when I saw crab claws at the fishmonger. One of my favorite seafood is crab claws. I would be very happy with just a big bowl of crab claws, chili and garlic butter and some nice wine to wash it all down with. It wasn’t the time for that today, and the fishmonger didn’t have enough crab claws but I thought crab and leek would go well together.

 

I used the leek as canelloni and served it on a seafood platter with red mullet, prawns and a small octopus.

 

octopus, red mullet, prawns, crab claws

 

Crab with chili stuffed leek canelloni 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 10-15 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 3 crab claws, I bought raw ones but the dish is quicker if you find cooked ones
  • 2 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1/2 clove of garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 1/2 chilli, sliced thinly

Remove the meat from the claw. I always place the meat on one side of a chopping board and go through it to make sure there is no bits of shell left in it. As I go through the meat I move it to the other side of the chopping board, I read somewhere that this is the best way to do it and it seems to work most times.

Mix the crab meat with the mayonnaise, chilli and garlic. Taste and see if you need any salt and pepper, I didn’t feel that this was necessary but I boiled the crab claws in salted water. Set the mixture aside until you are ready to assemble the dish.

 

Heat oil in a frying pan and gently caramelize the leek on both sides. Turn the heat down, add a lid and let the leeks gently simmer until they are soft, it should take about 10 -15 minutes.

 

frying leeks

 

Let the leek cool slightly and carefully take off the two or three outer layers of leek. Keep them together. Let them cool further if necessary and stuff them with the crab filling.

Add a slice of chilli, a few micro leaves if you have. Grate over a little lemon zest and last add a small drizzle of good olive oil.

 

Crab and chilli stuffed leek canelloni

 

The crab was great with the soft leek and the chili added a nice kick and made the dish interesting.

 

I pan fried the red mullet fillets, the octopus and the prawns and roasted a few potatoes and broccoli.

 

seafood platter

 

It was the crab canelloni that brought the dish together. It was the kind of lunch where you stop to enjoy the food and have a catch up.

Leek has a perfect shape for a carb free canelloni and I will use it again, I just need to think of a filling.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
10 Responses to “Crab and chill stuffed leek canelloni”
  1. DEE says:

    Sounds exciting and looks so colourful! Love the idea & vision of stuffing the leek in an upright position… love the sound of the chillies… what about trying a veggie filling??? DEE x

    • petra08 says:

      hi Dee, thank you! I was thinking of a tofu and mushroom filling but couldn’t resist the crab! Next time! Am glad you like it 🙂

  2. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🔥xoxo

  3. As inventive as always! I should think that a herb and goats cheese/ricotta/feta filling would be nice? Maybe with a crunch of chopped nuts too?

  4. Yum Petra – so creative with the leek!

Leave a Reply

