Quiche – the perfect comfort food

Vegetable and bacon quiche with salad

The other day I woke up and knew I wanted to have quiche for dinner. I am not sure how this came about, perhaps it was the vegetables in my fridge. For some reason I had a little bit of different kinds but not quite enough of each vegetable to make something with it.

I did a fridge raid and came up with a few vegetables I didn’t have a lot of and decided to make a quiche. I had a few rashes of bacon from the weekend that I thought I should use but just leave them out if you want to have a vegetarian quiche. There was half a Camembert as well and I thought why not.

I always find that there is something very comforting about quiche, it has a nice crust and a smooth middle, filled with vegetables and bacon.

 

The crust on it’s own is very edible, crunchy and cheesy, I will make some extra dough next time for savory biscuits.

 

Vegetable and bacon quiche (bacon optional)

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 10 minutes + 1 hr or until set

oven 175C or 350F

serves 4 as a lighter lunch or 3 as dinner

Ingredients

The crust

  • 2 1/2 dl or 1 1/4 cup of plain flour
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup fine grated cheese (I used smoked Red Leicester but any hard cheese will work)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 100 gr or 3.5 oz butter
  • 50 gr or 1.8 oz coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp millet seeds

The fillingΒ 

  • about 1/4 of a small broccoli, chopped quite fine
  • 1 small carrot, grated
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of chopped parsley
  • 1/2 small courgette/zucchini, chopped
  • 1 stick of celery, chopped fine
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and crushed
  • 1/2 Camembert, cut in to small chunks
  • 3 -4 large eggs
  • 1 dl light cream
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Start with the pastry. Mix the flour and baking powder before adding the grated cheese and millet seeds. Chop up the butter and add to the flour with the coconut oil. Break up the coconut oil and mix until you have a smooth dough.

Line a pie case with the dough, make sure it goes around the edges. Bake blind for 10 minutes, I use rice on grease proof paper to keep the shape. Remove the grease proof paper and rice and bake for another 5 minutes. I placed the pie tin on another tray in the oven as it has a loose bottom in case there would be excess fat and it did save me from having to clean as a little escaped.

 

Whilst the pie crust is cooking start with the filling. I chopped the vegetables first.

 

chopped vegetables

 

Mix the eggs and the cream with the spices and then add the vegetables and cheese. Grate the cheese if you are using a hard cheese.

 

Pour the filling in to the crust and bake for an hour or until set. If it looks like it is starting to burn place a loose sheet of tin foil over the quiche whilst baking.

 

The pastry smelt so nice and I couldn’t wait to try it. I have never used coconut oil before and was a bit worried it might not work. I think I need not have worried. The quiche was set after an hour, sometimes it takes a bit longer and I couldn’t wait to get my fork in there.

 

vegetable and bacon quiche

 

vegetable and bacon quiche

 

I made a salad, lightly dressed with lemon juice and olive oil, of lettuce and radishes to go with the quiche.

 

Vegetable and bacon quiche with salad

 

I ate it for lunch and it was great. I had other plans for dinner but there was a piece with my name on it so I had it for dinner as well. It hit my comfort food and quiche spot and I did wonder why I don’t make it more often.

The millet seeds adds a great crunch to the base, they are readily available in supermarkets here but if you can’t find them any health food store should stock them. Even a small amount packs a great crunch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Quiche – the perfect comfort food”
  1. Really looks delicious Petra, beautiful presentation! 😊

  2. chefkreso says:

    Quiche is the ultimate comfort food, and it can be made in so many combinations! Beautifully done!

  3. Quiches are my go to – I make one every week so that my husband and daughter have a quick and easy breakfast to grab out the door!

Leave a Reply

