The first barbecue of the year

barbecue meat and root vegetables

The days are getting longer and the sun has been shining and spring has arrived. The sun was so warm the other day and the forecast for the weekend was sunshine so I thought it would be great to celebrate with the first barbecue of the year.

 

Magnolia tree in blossom

Magnolia tree

 

I spoke to my friends and we did a quick plan and everyone was to bring a different dish. I had the idea of barbecuing root vegetables as well as meat and couldn’t wait to try it. As always with barbecues we didn’t get sorted until quite late. Everyone had things to do and by the time we met it was getting dark outside and time to fire up the barbecue.

 

I was supposed to make and bring a potato and wild garlic salad but fell asleep and instead brought potatoes and made it at my friends house. The reason I arrived late was that I had a market stall earlier that day and I did the mistake of sitting down on the sofa for a planned 10 minutes. As soon as I sat down I fell asleep and woke up an hour later! It had been a busy day at the market, the fresh pasta seems to have gone down really well and the hot sauce is very popular, I feel I am very lucky.

K had been delayed and but bought the meat, vegetables and lots of snacks, it was perfect.

 

We prioritized and started with a glass of wine. This was a nice and chilled out affair. We were catching up on what happened during the week. All of our lives are very different so it is always interesting to compare notes.

 

a glass of wine

 

We had carrots and parsnips for the barbecue and they went on first as they would take the longest to cook.

Root vegetables on the barbecue

 

Once the root vegetables had cooked almost soft there were burgers, sausages, and lamb chops coming as well, what a treat.

 

barbecue burgers and lamb chops

 

Everything was cooking away, we had plenty of snacks and more wine.

 

A dish of red peppers with a garlic spice mix was cooking away in a corner of the barbecue.

 

red peppers

 

The root vegetables started to look amazing.

 

barbecue root vegetables

 

Barbecue root vegetables.

Barbecue root vegetables

 

I love the smell of barbecue and the meat was cooked to perfection.

 

barbecue meat and root vegetables

 

We had way too much food but everyone tucked in and we had a gorgeous Asian salad, a bean and chilli salad, the potato and wild garlic salad, guaccamole, a pico de gallo inspired dip and the barbecued meat and vegetables. We drank more wine and chatted until the early hours of the morning. I walked home under a star studded sky and felt lucky to have such good friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “The first barbecue of the year”
  1. Marvelous idea, Petra. The photos are gorgeous too. Hugs.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Teagan
      I am so sorry I missed your lovely comment! A barbecue is always a good idea isn’t it?! Still a bit cold to actually eat outside! 🙂 Happy Easter!

  2. chefjulianna says:

    Beautiful! I dearly wish it was warm enough to have a bbq here too! Your photos are so enticing, Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      We were so late I was worried the photos might not come out at all but they did ok! Am glad you like them! And I have to admit it wasn’t warm at all in the evening, we sort of ran through the garden with the food to keep it warm! 🙂
      Happy weekend! x

  3. chefkreso says:

    Every spring should start with a barbecue 😀

Leave a Reply

