Steak with blackpudding cumble

steak with blackpudding crumble

I got completely side tracked at The Black Pig Butchers the other day. I went there to get some bacon for brunch and somehow came out with bavette steak and a black pudding as well. Bavette and skirt steak are my two favorite cuts of steak.

 

Lizzy the butcher makes her own black pudding and it is delicious. I did a black pudding crumble before and liked it so much I wanted to do it again. Here is the recipe but this time I didn’t add any walnuts.

 

On the way back from the butcher I stopped at the green grocers and they had a bunch of the cutest carrots. I thought they would be perfect roasted.

 

heritage carrots

 

I picked up some celeriac and a cauliflower as well to go with the steak.

 

I decided to roast all of the vegetables.

 

Garlic and cumin roasted vegetables

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time about 35 minutes

oven 180C or 356F

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 1 big or 4 small carrots
  • 1/2 head of celeriac
  • 1/2 head of a small cauliflower
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • 2 tbsp rapeseed oil
  • 1 tsp chili flakes
  • 1 tsp sea salt

Mix all of the spice mix ingredients. Place the cut vegetables in a bowl or in a plastic bag and shake until the vegetables are covered.

 

 

Roast vegetable spice mix

 

Spread the vegetables on a roasting tray and roast for about 35 minutes or until the celeriac is cooked through.

 

Roast celeriac cauliflower and carrots

 

I had some soft goats cheese and mixed it with butter and chopped red onion to go with the steak.

 

Goats cheese and red onion butter

 

For the black pudding crumble I toasted 2 tbsp of oats in a dry pan. When toasted I added butter and crumbled black pudding. I pan fried it crispy.

 

Black pudding crumble

 

I liked the soft steak, the crispy black pudding crumble and the slight sweetness from the roasted vegetables. The goats cheese butter added a slight tang that cut through the richness. The meat was pink in the middle, I know some prefer bavette steak more pink but it it worked for me.

 

steak with blackpudding crumble

 

Steak is such a treat and there was just enough for a sandwich the next day!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Steak with blackpudding cumble”
  1. Sumith says:

    Petra, your combination of flavours in food is on a Michelin star standard. Love this and learning for you.

Leave a Reply

