Egg yolk ravioli with beef jam, bavette steak and avocado salsa

Egg yolk ravioli with beef jam, bavette steak and avocado salsa

It has been a bit of a week, it started off challenging but got better as the week proceeded.

By Wednesday I try to have a plan for the market on Saturday of what to bring and what pastas to make. This week I thought I would follow a friends suggestion and make a display of the weeks pasta.

 

Flavored pasta

 

The new flavor was a spinach and beetroot tagliatelle, displayed in the middle together with a Parmesan and leek tagliatelle. The display drew people in and the two colored pasta seemed to be popular. I will have a think of what I can make for next week’s market and if you have any ideas for flavoring pasta that you think I should try please let me know! Ok, enough rambling market stall thoughts!

 

As it was Easter weekend I wanted to cook something special. A while back I did a beef jam and I thought it would go well with Uova da Ravioli, ravioli with an egg yolk inside. My idea was to have an avocado salsa in the bottom of the dish, then thinly sliced bavette steak, beef jam and the ravioli on top so that when you cut in to it the egg yolk will trickle down over the meat and bind the dish together with the avocado salsa.

 

Avocado and watercress salsa 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe avocados, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, peeled and chopped
  • seeds of one pomegranate
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped, core removed
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 red chilli, seeds removed and sliced fine
  • 1 handful of roughly chopped watercress
  • a pinch of sea salt

Mix everything except the sea salt. Set aside and add the sea salt just before serving. I removed the seeds from the chilli as I was after the flavor but not the heat but if you want it hotter keep the seeds in.

 

avocado and watercress salsa

 

I made some small changes to the beef jam and I think it might have turned out even better this time. You can find the original recipe here and the tweaked recipe below.

 

Beef jam 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 4 hours + 2 1/2 hours the following day 

oven 140C or 284F

serves 8-10 as a side dish 

Ingredients

Day 1

  • 4 beef short ribs
  • 9 dl or 4 1/2 coca cola
  • 1/2 dl fish sauce
  • fresh ginger cut julienne, about 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup
  • 3 fresh bayleaves
  • 7 garlic cloves, peeled and gently crushed
  • 1 onion, peeled and cut in half
  • 2 chipotle chilies
  • 2 dried red chilies

Day 2

  • pulled short rib, any visible excess fat removed
  • the onion, garlic, ginger, chipotle chili, red chilli that cooked with the short ribs, chopped fine
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup dark muscavado sugar
  • 1/4 dl or 1/8 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 dl or 1/8 cup Shaoxing rice wine
  • 1 tbsp white miso paste
  • cooking liquid, fat removed

Last, optional

  • 1 tbsp Seville orange marmalade

 

Brown the ribs all around.

 

browned beef short ribs

 

Place the beef ribs in an oven proof dish with a lid. Add the cocoa cola, fish sauce, ginger, bay leaves, garlic, onion and chilies and put the lid on the pan.

 

Place the pan in the oven for a minimum of 4 hours. I checked after 3 hours but the meat didn’t have the right “fall apart” texture that I was after so I cooked it for another hour and they were perfect.

Let the ribs cool down enough to handle. Pick the meat off the bones and shred it fine. I chopped the ginger, onion, garlic and chilies fine, not wanting to waste anything.

 

I placed the cooking liquids in a jar in the fridge over night to make sure I got rid of the fat.

 

The next day I placed the shredded meat and chopped onion, ginger and chilies back in the oven proof pan with a lid. Add the cooking liquid, fat removed, the soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, the brown sugar, miso paste and the Shaoxing rice wine. Place the pan in the oven at 140C or 284F again and cook for another 2 – 2 1/2 hours. The cooking liquids should be almost gone but it shouldn’t be dry. If it is very wet you can put the pan on the hob without the lid and boil it down but watch so it doesn’t burn. Taste and see if you want to add anything else. I added a table spoon of Seville orange and chilli marmalade. It is a perfect way to finish the dish. Let the jam cool and keep in a clean jar in the fridge.

 

I had made some pasta dough earlier and whilst the bavette steak was cooking and I made the ravioli. I did them exactly the same as before, you can see the recipe here but I did another feta cheese filling. I used sun dried tomatoes, pickled garlic and feta cheese and placed it in the blender until I had a paste that I used for the ravioli.

 

feta cheese mix on ravioli

 

uova da ravioli, egg yolk ravioli

 

After the bavette steak was rested I sliced it and placed it on top of the avocado and watercress salsa.

avocsteakado and watercress salsa with bavette

 

I cooked the ravioli, it takes 1 – 1 1/2 minute and let it drain slightly. I put some beef jam on top of the bavette steak then I added the ravioli and a few edible flowers.

 

Egg yolk ravioli with beef jam, bavette steak and avocado salsa

 

The egg yolk poured down over the beef jam and bavette steak and it tied all the elements together in to one dish. The avocado salsa with the pomegranate seeds added texture and cut through the rich egg yolk, beef and feta cheese mix.

The whole dish worked out even better than I had imagined and I will make it again. The beef jam takes a little time and effort but it has so much flavor makes it worth while.

 

If you are ever looking for inspiration, just ideas or what to cook, come and join  us at the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday! It is a piece of foodie heaven and this is where I am taking this dish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Egg yolk ravioli with beef jam, bavette steak and avocado salsa”
  1. chefkreso says:

    Looks really delicious, lovely post!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Kreso
      Thank you so much. The beef jam is a treat and really brings out the flavor of the steak.
      have a great week ahead 🙂

  2. Looks even more amazing in it’s final form. Bravo!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Christina
      Thank you so much! Anything with a runny egg yolk works a treat for me I have to admit!
      Have a great week! 🙂

  3. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx♠xoxo

  4. Wow! It’s all about the egg yolk!!!

  5. Monika says:

    This is such an unusual recipe, Petra! So very creative, and I’ve never heard of beef jam before! And that egg yolk inside the ravioli looks so fab. Very cool:)

    • petra08 says:

      hi Monika
      Thank you! I had never heard of beef jam before I went to a restaurant and had venison jam. It was so good I wanted to re create it and decided to use beef instead, much easier to source 🙂 The ravioli is great with almost anything!

Leave a Reply

