Delicious Malaysian food in Deal

three layer crispy pork belly

The other day I was asking the fishmonger if there would be any crabs this weekend. He scratched his head and said it would either be an abundance or very few, if any. All this had to do with the full moon and the tides, I feel like I learn something about the sea every time I go there. I still haven’t seen any crabs but there might be some tomorrow, who knows.

 

On the way out last evening the full moon, or to be precise, it was at 99.7% full, was stunning and we couldn’t resist a stroll along the seafront. Sadly my iPhone didn’t do it justice but I hope you get the idea.

 

full moon

 

We were headed to a local restaurant, Hey Hey. It used to be a Chinese takeaway and now they opened a restaurant above in addition. It opened a while back and this is the first time I made it there. The restaurant has a Malaysian focus rather than Chinese and it has been decorated beautifully.

 

Hey Hey Dining Room

 

Buddah

 

Window at Hey Hey Dining room

 

The menu is Malaysian but you can order some of the Chinese takeaway favorites if you want to. I have had the takeaway before and couldn’t wait to try the Malaysian dishes. The closest I have ever come to cooking Malaysian is a Beef Rendang.

Besides Beef Rendang on the menu there were dishes I have never cooked, or tried.

 

Every restaurant that opens always has teething problems but we didn’t see any. The service was professional and very welcoming.

 

M opted for beer with his dinner and I had green tea that came in a lovely tea cup. The shape was great to hold.

 

Chinese tea cup

 

We mulled over the menu and decided to share two starter and two main courses as they all looked good.

 

I love tofu and crispy tofu with chilli sauce and peanuts sounded tempting. The dish originated from Malaysian street food. I wish I could buy this on the streets here!

 

Crispy tofu with chilli and peanuts

 

The other dish was honey ribs.

 

Honey ribs

 

The meat fell off the bone, the honey coating was delicious and the sesame seeds added a nice crunch and flavor.

 

We had a great table by the window and watched people walk past. Almost everyone in Deal has at least one dog so every time you stop for a spot of people watching it is a little bit like a dog parade.

 

The first main course to arrive was a Beef Rendang, we just had to order it!

 

Beef Rendang

 

It takes so long to cook it is a treat when someone else does it. It came with a coconut and cucumber salad. The beef was soft and it had plenty of the lovely coconut flavor.

 

Finally my three layer crispy pork belly arrived. Whenever I see pork belly on a menu I can almost never resist ordering it.

 

three layer crispy pork belly

 

It was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside and came with a sweet chilli sauce.

A bowl of plain rice was all that was needed. We ate every single piece of food except a small amount of rice that I brought home to make a congee with. I think congee is the best ever use of left over rice, even a small amount goes a long way and there is nothing more comforting to eat!

 

There was quite a lot of chilli in the food but it was so delicately balanced it just made my taste buds very happy.  Despite the amount of meat it wasn’t a heavy meal and I can’t wait to go back. A lovely meal, great service and those flavors!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Delicious Malaysian food in Deal”
  1. Lily says:

    I wish I was there with you at the restaurant. Everything looked so delicious and mouth-watering. Now I’m craving Malaysian food!

  2. Ahhh. I feel like I was there. Delightful!!

  3. Vicky says:

    I went there when it first opened it was delicious, I also had the rendang I thought it was delicious. I was impressed it was pretty classy food.
    Pleased to have found your blog as I have been looking for a good food blog and love the fact you are local so I know the ingredients are sourcable

    • petra08 says:

      hi Vicky
      Am so glad to hear you liked it as well! I will absolutely go back 🙂
      Great that you like the blog, I hope I can provide some inspiration! I try to use as much local produce as possible! Glad that you found me!

Leave a Reply

