Pan fried duck with a rhubarb sauce

Pan fried duck breast

It has been a bit manic lately. It was only yesterday I really sat down for the first time to chill out. I have to admit that after about ten minutes I got bored and started making to do lists in my head again. I am not great at being being lazy at the moment but there is plenty going on.

 

A while back I saw a recipe competition for British Leeks. I did leek canelloni stuffed with crab and chilli. It proved to be a winning entry and I was so happy! British Leek sent out a press release and I made it to the local newspaper!

 

On a sad note we lost our little white dog, he just celebrated his 17th birthday, a grand old age for a dog.

 

FlirtyDog

 

He wasn’t large in size but filled the house with his cheeky personality and is much missed. His friend, our lurcher is a little lost but is getting a lot of cuddles and extra love.

 

On a happier note the market stall has been going well. Pasta seems to be popular and the hot sauces are selling on a steady basis.

 

Market stall

 

I found a recipe for a Sicilian flatbread with the amazing name Carta Di Musica, music sheets. They are made in the pasta machine so I thought they would make a perfect match. I added seeds and cheese on top and they proved to be popular.

 

Carta di musica, Sardinian flatbread

 

I have been experimenting with pasta and since I got a display of the pasta at my market stall my best seller has been a spinach and beetroot pasta, I think it is the colors in the pasta that attract as well as the flavors.

 

Spinach and beetroot tagliatelle

 

Spinach and beetroot tagliatelle

 

Standing at my market stall I saw that the butcher had duck breasts and I thought that would be nice for dinner.

 

I was thinking of what to have with the duck and thought a classic orange would be nice, or grapefruit perhaps. A salad of some sort and well, the only thing I knew I wanted was potatoes.

I didn’t have any citrus fruit at home, I had completely forgotten that detail. M had picked some rhubarb earlier so I thought this would be nice with the duck.

 

I followed the instructions on the Gressingham duck site and it worked a treat except my duck breasts might have been slightly smaller, they cooked just a fraction faster but they turned out just delicious even if not quite as pink as I had in mind.

 

I placed the salted and peppered duck breast in a cold frying pan and turned the heat up and pan fried it until crispy and golden. I drained the fat in to another pan, sliced the rhubarb and added it to the pan with the rhubarb. I added about 1/4 cup of left over champagne and a table spoon of honey and roasted it for 13 minutes. I then rested the duck for another 10 minutes.

 

Whilst the duck was cooking I pan fried some potatoes, spiced with salt, pepper, sumac and white sesame seeds. I had diced them quite fine and they cooked in the rendered duck fat and were ready when the duck was rested.

 

I also had some cabbage greens from the allotment that I steamed and I made a ginger dressing to go with it.

 

Ginger and soy dressing

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

 serves 4

Ingredients

  • 3/4 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and crushed
  • 1 tsp rapeseed oil

Remove the stem from the greens and slice them.

 

sliced greens

 

Place the greens in a steamer and bring the water to a boil. Turn the heat off as soon as it has boiled and leave it for 4 minutes with a lid on.

Toss the greens with the dressing and serve with the duck and potatoes. I had some carrot puree that I used as well.

 

Pan fried duck breast

 

I have used rhubarb with duck before when I made a rhubarb vinaigrette with smoked breast of duck and it worked well with a cooked rhubarb sauce as well.

 

I am bringing my duck breast and pasta thoughts to the lovely Angie’s foodie party, Fiesta Friday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
19 Responses to “Pan fried duck with a rhubarb sauce”
  1. Your pastas are absolutely stunning. Love seeing them!!

  2. Jhuls says:

    Being in the local newspaper- how cool is that?
    I am so sorry about your little dog. 😞
    As for the pasta and the whole meal, it looks absolutely perfect! Thanks for taking this with you at Fiesta Friday party. Hope you have a relaxing weekend!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juhls
      Thank you, the newspaper was very good! Even a mention of my market stall 🙂
      The house is empty without him but 17 is a good age. Gald you like it and happy Fiesta Friday! I hope you are having a great weekend and thank you for co hosting! 🙂

  3. Monika says:

    Sorry to hear about your dog, though 17 years is a great age for a dog. Your market stall looks great and I would definitely buy your beetroot pasta! I just posted a beetroot recipe myself:) Have a good weekend!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Monika
      Thank you! Yes 17 is good, he was a little like a doggie grandpa in the end, but very cute.
      The market stall is getting better, love beetroot! When I have beetroot pasta I put some in the pasta water and then have some extra on the side for an extra hit of beetroot 🙂
      Enjoy the rest of the weekend as well! 🙂

  4. chefkreso says:

    Love the rhubarb sauce, sounds like it goes really well with duck 🙂

  5. Oh Petra, I’m so very sorry about your little doggie 😕 17 is an amazing age, you must all miss him so much xx

  6. chefjulianna says:

    Hi Petra. So sorry to hear about your dog. It is alway so sad when they pass, as they really are family members after all.

    Lovely dish today. I am always happy to find recipes for rhubarb, as it is so prolific!

    Have a great weekend! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you. It is terrible and he is much missed. He was so clever and filled the house with his personality!
      Glad you like the duck. The rhubarb plant is so healthy and very generous! I will have to think of more recipes to use even a fraction of it 🙂
      We have a bank holiday Monday here so a bit of a lazy day! 🙂 Love it! Hope you had a good weekend and will enjoy the week ahead! xx

  7. Sorry to hear about your dog. I love your pasta but never tried duck so far, perfect combo..

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you! He is much missed! Duck is lovely, quite rich. My favorite is crispy duck legs, yum 🙂
      Have a great week ahead!

  8. I saw that recipe and just knew it belonged to you. It’s just beautiful! I’m so sorry about your little pup. They are such a big part of our lives.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Thank you! Duck is always a treat I think 🙂 The rhubarb was great with the rich meat.
      Yes, we do miss the little one but he did have a good life and was spoilt rotten! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

