Crab cakes with tartar style sauce

crab cake with spinach and tartar sauce

It feels like winter has arrived again. After some warm weather temperatures dropped, there were casualties at the allotment and I actually got my winter jacket out. I was thinking of warming stews and soups when I saw crabs at the fishmonger. They are the first of the year that I have seen and I had to get one.

 

crab

 

All thoughts of warming foods went and crab was the dish of the day.

 

Crab cakes 

preparation time 20 minutes 

cooking time about 10 minutes 

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 1 large crab, pick out both the brown and the white meat, save some white meat for garnish
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp Heatonomy Hot Hot Sauce
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 red chilli, de seeded and chopped fine
  • 2 spring onions/scallions
  • 2 boiled potatoes, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1/2 dl bread crumbs

Mix all of the ingredients.

 

crab cake ingredients

 

Add more breadcrumbs if the mixture is too wet. Shape crab cakes and bread crumb them.

 

breaded crab cakes

 

Pan fry the fish cakes crispy and cooked through. I served them with a tartar style sauce. A classic tartar sauce is made of mayonnaise and I wanted something lighter so I decided to use light mayonnaise and low fat yogurt.

 

Tartar style sauce 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1/2 dl cocktail gherkins, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp capers
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup low fat yogurt
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup low fat mayonnaise
  • dill, chopped
  • 2 spring onions, sliced fine

Mix all of the ingredients. Taste and add anything you might find missing, if any before serving.

 

Wilt some spinach, serve the crab cakes with the white crab meat set aside, a few slices of chilli and enjoy.

 

crab cake

 

crab cake with spinach and tartar sauce

 

The crab cakes were light and the tartar style sauce full of flavor. It was a great way to make one crab be a plentiful dinner for two. If served with a more substantial salad this would easily be enough for three people.

It did taste a little like spring, I am hoping this cold spell will soon give way for a bit of summer, I am ready!

 

I am bringing a bunch of these to Angie’s Fiesta Friday! Come and join us, have a look around and I am sure you will be inspired by amazing foods and lovely people!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
22 Responses to “Crab cakes with tartar style sauce”
  1. Petra, they look lovely and delicious. Hugs.

  2. Perfection on a plate, in my opinion! 🍓

  3. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🌷xoxo

  4. It all looks as beautiful as always 🙂

  5. chefjulianna says:

    I love crab cakes!! I have bookmarked your recipe, as you have inspired me once again, Petra! Very delicious! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      Hello Julianna
      I am so happy to be able to inspire you! Crab cakes are always a bit of a treat and I hope you will enjoy them 🙂 Happy week ahead!

  6. JIN says:

    Looks so beautiful and fresh! It’s full-on summer here, your crab cake would be a perfect simple meal for me. Hope you have warmer days again soon…I believe you live in UK? I lived in London for 4 years, know what the British weather can be. 😦

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jin
      Hmm.. am not sure about the weather just yet ha ha. Yes I live in the UK and well, any day when it doesn’t rain is always good! I am so ready for warm weather and am a little jealous of your summery weather 🙂
      Glad you like the crab cakes, they are perfect for a light lunch or as a starter! Happy Monday!

  7. Sumith says:

    Loved the addition of yogurt in that tartar sauce. Crab cakes sounds delicious.

  8. Lina says:

    They look really delicious! Crab is my all time favourite ☺

    • petra08 says:

      hi Lina
      So glad you like them! I love fresh crab and crab cakes are a bit of a treat! Not sure why I don’t make them more often 🙂

  9. chefkreso says:

    Looks amazing but your every dish looks awesome!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Kreso
      Many thanks for your very kind words! It means a lot.
      I hope you have a great week ahead! 🙂

  10. Love the addition of the mashed potato. Great idea.

Leave a Reply

