Radicchio and watermelon tapioca risotto

Tapioca and radicchio risotto

I love when I find an ingredient that really gets me excited. It can be the flavor, the texture and sometimes the color. I will make a whole dish around just one ingredient and this is exactly what happened when I was in London last time. My friend took me to a cheese shop, so cheesy in fact it is called La Fromagerie.  What a place, there are cheeses of all kinds and I am quite sure I could happily move in there for a while! I didn’t buy any cheese as I saw at least ten cheeses I wanted to buy and I couldn’t make my mind up.

I did see some radiccio that looked impossibly pretty and I knew it would have to come home with me. The irony of me being in a cheese shop buying vegetables.

 

radicchio

 

A bit further down the road was a market and I couldn’t resist a fresh garlic.

 

fresh garlic

 

I decided to make a tapioca risotto using my new ingredients. Radicchio is bitter so I bought some watermelon to add sweetness. I opted for tapioca as I like the texture and flavor.

 

Tapioca and radicchio risotto 

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 20 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup tapioca
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
  • 1 1/2 can of light coconut milk
  • a knob of coconut oil
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced very thinly
  • 1/2 radicchio, leaves sliced lengthwise

Garnish

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup diced watermelon
  • chevril or coriander
  • goats cheese

Heat the coconut oil in a pan, add the tapioca and the garlic. Don’t let it brown. Add a little coconut milk and let simmer. Add more coconut milk as the tapioca cooks and stir to release the starch. Taste with salt. When the tapioca is just cooked turn the heat off, add the red onion and radicchio. Put the lid on and let stand for 3 minutes. Taste with salt and add some more coconut oil if you want a stronger flavor.

Plate up the risotto and add some fresh radicchio leaves with the cubed watermelon and the chevril.

 

tapioca and radicchio risotto

Tapioca and radicchio risotto

 

Tapioca risotto is lighter than aboro rice risotto and it soaks up flavors perfectly. The balance between bitter and sweet worked. I liked the radicchio so much I managed to source the seeds online and am hoping that they will grow on the allotment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Radicchio and watermelon tapioca risotto”
  1. Yum! I love it when I find that inspiring ingredient too 🙂

  2. Sumith says:

    Your foods always amaze me. Beautiful share Petra.

Leave a Reply

