Taramosalata, my way

smoked cod roe

I am always on the look out for interesting ingredients. I prefer ones I absolutely love or ones I have never used before. It gets my cooking creativity going and they make me smile. One of the places that sometimes truly surprises me is the fishmongers. If you are lucky one of his friends will have found some truffles that are sold in the shop, if it is lobster, crab or scallop season you can always get some at amazing prices. You can get game, if not fresh there is a magic freezer and the other day I saw some smoked cod roe.

 

I asked him if he had smoked it himself but he said there was a new supplier they decided to try. I have never cooked or used smoked cod roe and I just knew I had to get some.

I got the smallest piece I could find and it was still a good size.

 

smoked cod roe

 

The roe had a lovely, smoky smell and the roe inside was so soft.

 

smoked cod roe

 

I thought I would make some taramosalata. Usually I would shy away from this in restaurants, it tends to have a slightly fishy smell and be hmm, sometimes bright pink.

 

Making a dish yourself can be a different experience and I was hoping that this would happen this time. After searching for recipes I did notice that there are some different recipes and the way I did it might horrify anyone with a taste for traditional Greek food. I used what I had in my fridge so this is sort of taramosalata.

This dip is super quick to make.

 

Taramosalata, my way

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 6 as a starter/snack

Ingredients

  • smoked cod roe, skin and veins removed
  • creme fraiche, about 2 dl or 1 cup
  • zest and juice of 1/2 lemon
  • extra virgin olive oil for drizzle

Use a whisk and mix the creme fraiche and cod roe. Add the lemon zest and juice. Taste if you need more. if you are happy with the flavor, drizzle with olive oil and serve with toasted pitta bread and/or crudites.

 

taramosalata

 

It was very far from the bright pink, slightly fishy taramosalata that I have tried in restaurants. This was creamy, rich and deep in flavor, I couldn’t stop eating it. Luckily I had friends over so I couldn’t simply indulge but I might get some more roe and make some for a home alone night, just maybe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Taramosalata, my way”
  1. It looks like a much better colour than some you see!!!

  2. Yummy!!! I just love codroe👌🏻👍🏻

Leave a Reply

