Goats cheese and apple ravioli

Goats cheese ravioli

Someone asked me at the market where I sell my pasta and hot sauces if I have a big pasta machine. I just laughed and said I have a small pasta machine! It just takes a lot of rolling. Making pasta is a labour of love and it is also therapeutic. My thoughts wander and my hands are busy, it beats sitting for a minimum of 12 hours in front of a computer screen any day.

 

I sometimes set a little fresh pasta dough aside to make something different, that I won’t bring to the market. I love ravioli and had set some spinach pasta aside for this.

 

Spinach pasta dough, the color is vibrant green and quite pretty.

Spinach pasta dough

 

A good thing about being at the market is the other market stalls. There is a cheese monger that sells a good selection of goats cheese. I bought a fresh goats cheese, it reminds me slightly of ricotta but with a nice tang. I spent my quiet time at the market (it wasn’t much) thinking of what would go nicely with the cheese and the pasta. In the end I couldn’t let go of the thought of green apple and pink peppercorn, perhaps I was in the mood for color!

 

Goats cheese and apple ravioli

preparation time 20 minutes

cooking time 3-4 minutes

serves 3 as a starter

Ingredients

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup diced crumbly goats cheese
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup diced apple, I used Granny Smith
  • Pink peppercorns, 3 for each ravioli
  • Pasta dough for 15 ravioli

Roll the pasta in to sheets and cut out out the desired shape.

Place a little goats cheese, some diced apple and 3 pink peppercorns on each ravioli.

 

Goats cheese ravioli

 

Wet the tip of your finger and run it around the edges of the pasta round and use this as “glue”.

I steamed the ravioli, like dumplings for a few minutes, enough to make sure the pasta dough was cooked through and the goats cheese warm in the center.

I served the ravioli on tomato sauce and sprinkled over some more goats cheese before serving.

 

Goats cheese ravioli

 

Goats cheese ravioli

 

I only made them as a small starter but next time I will make them as a main course, I could eat a whole lot of them. The apple added acidity, the pink peppercorn a burst of flavor every now and then and the goats cheese a soft tang, great with the pasta.

Ravioli is a little time consuming to make but well worth the effort and simply use any ingredients inside that you fancy and have at hand.

If you don’t want to make ravioli you can simply use the spinach tagliatelle and sprinkle over the coats cheese, apple and pink peppercorns.

 

I wished I had made more of them and served them as a main course but I just have to make them again. I am bringing a batch of the ravioli to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. Co hosted by the super talented Juhls, The Not So Creative Cook and Su, Su’s Healthy Living.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Goats cheese and apple ravioli”
  1. I love the way you ‘paint’ your recipes – so artistic!

  2. Apple and goats cheese – a perfect marriage!!!! These look fab!

  3. Jhuls says:

    I love that you incorporated spinach in your dough. Such a pretty dish! Thank you so much for sharing at Fiesta Friday party.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juhls
      Thank you for co hosting! The spinach is great and makes the pasta look so pretty 🙂 Have a great rest of the week! x

  4. turkswhoeat says:

    There is nothing else like homemade pasta, it really is a labor of love! These look so delicious, I think I could eat 3 plates full!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Alex and Mehmet
      Home made pasta is amazing, not at all as heavy as dried. Ravioli is a bit fiddly but so worth while to make 🙂 Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

