Cherry tomato and quails egg canapés

tomato and quails egg canapes

A perfect canapé to me is the perfect bite. You get a balanced mini bite that, let’s face it, makes you want another one.

A friend of mine brought a cheese from Georgia where she recently went on holiday. She knows how much I like ingredients I haven’t used before and came back with a lovely and different cheese.

 

Georgian stringy cheese

 

It was stringy, slightly salty and so good. I once read an article about a Syrian string cheese and I think it might be similar to that. I have never seen it in a shop, it is also known as braided cheese.

I thought it would be nice paired with some quails eggs I had and decided to make some canapes.

 

Cherry tomato and quails egg canapés

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 10-15 minutes

oven 180C or 356F

serves 2 as a starter or a snack, makes 8 canapés

Ingredients

  • 2 sheets of filo pastry
  • 2 cherry tomatoes
  • 4 tbsp crumbled feta cheese
  • 4 quails eggs
  • 8 slices of cooked beetroot
  • 8 slices of cooked apricots
  • olive oil
  • sea salt

Oil one of the filo sheets and place the other one on top. Cut out rounds and place them in mini rounds. Add a slice of smoked beetroot, smoked apricot and to 4 of them, crack a quails egg. In the remaining 4 place half a cherry tomato. Add a little olive oil and a light sprinkle of sea salt.

 

quails egg canape

 

cherry tomato canape

 

quails egg and cherry tomato canapes

 

Bake until the egg is set and the filo pastry crispy. I added the stringy cheese to the quails egg canapé before serving.

 

tomato and quails egg canapes

 

Quails egg canape

 

cherry tomato canape

 

I loved to get stuck in to the canapés. The smoked beetroot added a wonderful flavor to both the cherry tomato and the quails egg. I added the stringy cheese to the quails egg canapés and some edible flowers before serving.

Both canapés were great and next time I think I need to make more of them and get some friends around.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
10 Responses to “Cherry tomato and quails egg canapés”
  1. Very interesting combination smoked beet root and quail eggs. Sounds tasty!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Daniel
      Thank you. The beetroot added just a hint of smokiness that worked with the rich quails egg 🙂

  2. These canapés look amazing and I’m very intrigued by the braided cheese. Does it have a strong cheesy (umami) flavour as well, or is it more like a very salty mozzarella?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Eli
      thank you! The cheese is more like a salty halumi, but stringy . I haven’t melted it yet but have to give this a go as well! Next time I go shopping for Middle Eastern food I will keep an eye out for it, it is delicious 🙂

  3. chefkreso says:

    What an imaginative and flavourful idea! Real inspiration 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Chef Kreso
      Thank you! Smoked beetroot is a bit of a treat and a little went a long way in the canapes. I hope you had a good weekend and a great week ahead 🙂

  4. Very clever Petra – how lucky your house guests are!

Leave a Reply

