Smoked mackerel with heritage tomatoes and roasted vegetables

smoked mackerel and heritage tomatoes

One of my favorite meals when I grew up was smoked mackerel with boiled potatoes and stewed spinach. Smoked mackerel is very soft in texture and has a delicious flavor. All fatty fish takes up smoke so well.

Somehow I lost the dish for a few years, perhaps as it wasn’t as easy to buy but one of the local fishmongers, Jenkins & Son, sells them and they are just as good as I remember them.

 

I guess I could smoke the mackerel myself but today I wanted one for dinner and there was no time to smoke, and these are so good I am not sure I could smoke them better myself.

 

smoked mackerel

 

I was thinking about what to have with the mackerel, I did think about boiled potatoes and spinach but had heritage tomatoes, heritage carrot, asparagus and French beans. I wanted to make a light meal and this would be great.

 

I wanted roasted vegetable to bring out the flavor. I pre boiled the carrot whole for 8 minutes.

 

Roasted vegetables 

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 8 minutes + 20 minutes

oven 175C or 347F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 (heritage) carrot, pre boiled and cut in half length ways
  • 1 handful of French beans
  • 1 handful of asparagus
  • olive oil

Place the vegetables on a tray and bake them until just soft. The carrot will cook at the same time as it is pre cooked. I find the heritage carrot so beautiful.

 

Veg for roasting

 

Fillet the mackerel and make sure there are no bones left. Cut out a nice piece from the middle of the fillet and serve the rest of the mackerel on the side.

 

Slice the tomatoes and keep the middle slices. Cube the remaining tomato and mix with a little olive oil, a pinch of sea salt and a little lemon juice.

Mix some goats cheese with low fat yogurt and serve on the side.  I cut up the French beans and the asparagus as a salad.

 

smoked mackerel and heritage tomato

 

smoked mackerel and heritage tomatoes

 

Smoked mackerel is delicious and I don’t eat it often enough. If you want a fuller meal it goes well with boiled potatoes.

 

I am bringing some mackerel to Angie’s Fiesta Friday. I am so late but I just don’t want to miss it, the week isn’t quite the same without it. Come on over and have a look, get inspired and be ready to get hungry!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Smoked mackerel with heritage tomatoes and roasted vegetables”
  1. It’s never too late to bring such an interesting dish to FF. Thanks for taking the time to share with us.
    Tracey

  2. Great dish Petra and so good to show off a type of fish that’s super good for you!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Laura
      Thank you! I think smoked mackerel is my favorite way to eat it and I just love tomatoes! 🙂 Have a great week ahead!

  3. Jhuls says:

    What a lovely super food to bring at Fiesta Friday party! I need something like this after eating ‘dirt’ food. 😀 Thanks for sharing at this week’s FF party!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Juhls
      You make me laugh! Glad you like it! I have eaten too much meat lately and needed something nice and light! 🙂 happy FF!

      • Jhuls says:

        I have eaten a lot lately that I thought my tummy would explode, haha. So I need healthy and light like your dish. 😀

  4. Haven’t had smoked mackerel before but I can see myself having it and enjoying it. I’ve moved on beyond fried fish by now 😂 That carrot is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

