Stilton baked vegetables with duck and oven fries

Stilton baked vegetables

Last week was so manic I feel as if I never quite stopped. Do you every have that feeling? Once my head hit the pillow I slept like a log until the alarm went of the next day and it was time to do it all over again!

I seemed to add to my own work load and decided to make carnitas ravioli for the market. I mixed the carnitas with black pepper roasted figs, for flavor as well as texture and it worked out really well. I tested them here with a little melted butter and plenty of grated Parmesan cheese.

 

carnitas filled ravioli

 

Speaking of the market I have some exciting news. One of my Swedish friends who lives in the same town is starting a market stall offering “fika”. Fika is a Swedish institution, most often it is a cup of coffee with a cinnamon bun, a piece of cake or a cheese roll. There are even laws in the workplace that employees are allowed time,, usually 10-15 minutes once in the morning and once in the afternoon to have a “fika”.

If you have more time head to a cafe, bring a good book or a friend and take your time. In this case I made myself a cup of coffee and enjoyed a freshly baked Swedish cinnamon bun, what  a treat!

 

Swedish Cinnamon buns

 

This is the UK and after my Swedish cinnamon bun experience I felt I should take a break from food and went to the pub for a pre dinner pint.

Each year there is a flower competition in town and the pub looks amazing.

 

Kings Head Deal, Kent

 

There are plenty of seats outside on the seafront and it is perfect to watch the sea and sip Pimms.

 

Soon it was time to head back home and cook dinner. Last week there was a knock on the door and I found one of my neighbors on the doorstep, She was armed with what can only be described as a massive wedge of Stilton cheese. They had guests who lives near Stilton and they had brought a large piece of the village pride. My neighbors like Stilton cheese but felt a bit overwhelmed by the size and decided to share.

 

I love all foodie gifts and I couldn’t wait to get cooking, whilst eating pieces of the cheese, so good!

 

It is a great year for vegetables, we had a hot summer and the courgettes are so plentiful. I decided to pair some with the Stilton cheese. I had fresh asparagus and some cherry tomatoes that needed to be used as well.

 

Stilton baked vegetables

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 15 minutes 

oven 180C or 356F 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 medium courgette, I used 1/2 yellow and 1/2 green
  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • a few cherry tomatoes
  • Stilton cheese
  • a pinch of salt and pepper

Place the vegetables in an oven proof dish and cover with Stilton cheese.

 

Stilton baked vegetables

 

Bake for 15 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

 

Stilton baked vegetables

 

M had picked a cabbage so I made some coleslaw. I had a couple of duck breasts that I cooked. I made some oven fries and made some truffle butter and dinner was ready.

 

Duck with oven fries and baked vegetables

 

I thought I had made quite a lot of food but somehow it all went. The Stilton cheese was delicious with the vegetables, I will absolutely do it again. What a lovely gift and I am so lucky to have such good neighbors.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Stilton baked vegetables with duck and oven fries”
  1. The pub looks lovely! So do the veggies 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Elaine
      The pub is such a proper English pub it makes me smile just to go there!
      The veggies worked a treat! 🙂 x

  2. Love the idea of a twice daily fika Petra – not sure 10 minutes is quiet long enough though!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Laura
      Everyone doesn’t stick to the allocated 10 minutes, ha ha but yes it is a nice thing to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

