Black Dukkah

Black Dukkah

A friend of mine bought a jar of Dukkah for me as a surprise a few years ago. It was the first time I ever had it and it was delicious. I haven’t really thought about it until I went to The Barbary and they had a Black Dukkah salmon. I had to order it as I was so curious and this was possibly even better than the one I had before.

 

I came home and was thinking about the Dukkah. I did a little research and realized it is super easy to make yourself. I have no idea why I have never thought of making my own and this is not a mix I can buy locally.

 

I found several recipes online but this recipe from Food and Home Entertaining Magazine seemed straight forward and easy enough.

As I got my ingredients out I immediately started to think how I could add more flavor and as I love chilli, I felt the need to add a little crushed chilli as well. If you don’t want the extra heat just leave it out. White sea salt flakes and white sesame seeds works just as well.

 

Black Dukkah 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 4-5 minutes 

serves makes 3 small jars, about 3/4 cup  

Ingredients

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup charcoal salt
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup black sesame seeds, toasted
  • 1/2 dl  or 1/4 cup chopped, toasted walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes

Start by toasting the sesame seeds and the chopped walnuts for a few minutes. Let the sesame seeds and walnuts cool.

 

toasting

 

Mix the sea salt with the molasses, make sure there are no lumps in the sugar. Add the chilli and last the cooled toasted sesame seeds and the walnuts.

 

I had a loaf of sourdough bread so I cut a slice and ate it with extra virgin olive oil and Black Dukkah. It worked a treat. I liked the added heat of the chilli, it was great with the sweetness from the molasses.

 

Black Dukkah

 

I like the Black Dukkah so much I made an extra batch to bring to the market. It is simple but so good and I believe that good things should be shared.

 

Black Dukkah

 

After eating about half a loaf of bread with olive oil and the Dukkah I hadn’t quite had enough. I pan fried chicken and had it with olive oil, Dukkah and caramelized sweetcorn and it was delicious.

 

Chicken and black Dukkah

 

I can’t wait to use it more in my cooking, I have a feeling the chicken was just the start.

 

I am bringing a big batch of my Dukkah and some extra virgin olive oil to Angie’s Fiesta Friday. Perhaps the bread baker extraordinaire Elaine, foodbod, has baked a bread to eat with the Dukkah!

Co hosting this week are Sarah, Sarah’s Little Kitchen and Shinta, Caramel Tinted Life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
20 Responses to “Black Dukkah”
  1. I’ve made endless versions dukkah, but none like this!!!

  2. mistimaan says:

    Great recipe….will try it 🙂

  3. Shinta says:

    I am always learning something new from your blog, Petra! Thanks for sharing your food knowledge and expertise with us at Fiesta Friday. I have never tried a Dukkah before, but it sounds tempting, and I’d like to have a jar of that in my pantry always!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Shinta
      I hope your week is good! Thank you for your lovely comment 🙂
      I hope you try it, there are so many versions just find one you like and it is super simple to make!
      Have a great weekend! x

  4. Colleen says:

    Oh, this does sound memorable! It sounds like something I would love! Thanks for hosting Fiesta Friday this week! Faith, Hope, Love, & Luck – Colleen

    • petra08 says:

      hi Colleen
      This is so easy to make and is so tasty! Perfect for just snacking but also for when having friends around as well! 🙂
      Happy Fiesta Friday and have a great weekend 🙂

  5. turkswhoeat says:

    Very interesting, I bet this is good on a lot of things!

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you! It works equally well with fish or meat! Of course also with just bread or vegetables to dip 🙂
      Have a great weekend!

  6. I was going to say I only knew of Dukkah because of Elaine, and then as I scrolled down, ta da!! 🙂 Someday I will have to jump on board and try this recipe, so I’ll be pinning!

    Mollie

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mollie
      I hope you do! I can’t stop putting it on everything! Corn on the cobb is my latest.
      The best thing is you can use spices that you like and every recipe is unique! 🙂 x

  7. nancyc says:

    Beautiful presentation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

