Fish pie with smoked prawns and scallop

I don’t know how it is where you live but there is an autumnal feeling in the air. Some mornings are still warm but  no matter what the weather it is always a treat to start the day with a walk along the beach. This morning the clouds were hanging over the pier and I couldn’t resist taking a photo.

 

Deal Pier

 

The sun came out later and it was a beautiful day.

 

One of the local fishing boats came in and looking at the fishermen hauling it up on the beach I couldn’t stop thinking about smoking seafood. I got scallops and samphire and my friend got more scallops (apparently I didn’t get enough), prawns and halibut. We raided the larders and got potatoes, asparagus and cauliflower.

 

I de veined the prawns as a starter.

 

Raw prawns

 

The scallops were quite neat but I gave them one last trim.

The potatoes were parboiled and smoked together with the cauliflower. We smoked the prawns and the scallops. I pan fried the halibut and steamed the asparagus and samphire.

I thought hollandiase sauce would be nice to go with the fish. I found a recipe from chef Gordon Ramsay and I made some small amendments.

 

Hot Sauce Hollandaise Sauce

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 15-20 minutes

serves 3-4

Ingredients

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 2 dl olive oil
  • 50 gr or 1.7 oz butter
  • juice and zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tsp Hot Sauce, more to taste
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • 2 tbsp parsley, chopped
  • 2 tbsp chive, chopped

Place the egg yolks in a bowl over boiling water with the zest and juice of the lemon. Whisk together and gently heat. Heat the olive oil until finger warm and add to the egg yolks. Keep whisking and don’t let it boil. Melt the butter, let cool slightly and whisk into the sauce, a little at the time. When the sauce has come together add the hot sauce. Start with a tea spoon and taste, add more if desired. Last add the chopped herbs, sea salt and taste with more lemon juice if needed.

 

Herbed Hot Sauce Hollandiase

 

The first thing we ate was a scallop with some samphire. It was so good, the two ingredients made for a perfect bite.

 

smoked oyster and samphire

 

When smoking the prawns they take on a light smokey flavor that makes them even more delicious.

 

Smoked prawns

 

We ate lots and in the end I was eyeing up the prawns until I realized I couldn’t eat even one more and it was time give up. I had to admit this and it turned out we all had the same feeling.

 

I ended up taking the left overs home with the promise of making a fish pie to share the following day.

I was going to make mash potato to go with the fish pie but there was so much of the smoked potatoes and cauliflower left over that I didn’t need to make any. This fish pie works just as well with boiled potatoes and any sea food left overs.

 

Smokey Fish Pie 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 35 minutes 

oven 200C or 392F

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 12 small potatoes, pre cooked and cut in half
  • 4 cauliflower florets, cooked (smoked) and sliced
  • 300 gr or 10.5 oz cooked fish
  • 4 cooked (smoked) prawns, chopped in to chunks
  • 3 cooked (smoked)scallops, chopped in to slices
  • 6 cooked asparagus spears
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup chopped soft herbs, I used parsley, coriander and chives
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup grated cheese, I used cheddar
  • butter to grease the dish

For the bechamel

  • 6 dl or 3 cups of milk
  • 50 gr or 1.7 oz butter
  • 4 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1/4 grated nutmeg
  • 1 chicken stock cube, you can also use vegetable or fish stock

Start with the bechamel, melt the butter in a pan. Add the flour and let it cook for a couple of minutes. Then add the milk, a little at the time until you have a smooth sauce. Let it cook whilst stirring and add the nutmeg, stock cube and taste with salt and pepper.

Set aside until you are ready to assemble your fish pie.

Butter the ovenpoof dish. Cut the potatoes and cauliflower into chunks and flake chunks of fish on top. Chop the prawns and scallops and spread on top along with the samphire and a few asparagus spears but save some to place on top of the dish. Squeeze the juice of 1/2 lemon on top.

 

fish pie ingredients

 

Cover with the bechamel, asparagus and herbs, grate cheese over and add a little black pepper.

 

Fish pie with asparagus

 

Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes, or until bubbly and piping hot and serve straight away.

 

fish pie with asparagus

 

It was possibly the most tasty dish I have made with left overs, quite a treat!

 

I am bringing this to Corina’s fab challenge, Cook Once Eat Twice. I don’t like food waste and this is a great dish to bring!

I am also taking this to Angie’s always fun filled and delicious, Fiesta Friday! Co hosted by the super talented Nimmi, Adorable Life and Juhls, The Not So Creative Cook.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
24 Responses to “Fish pie with smoked prawns and scallop”
  1. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🎃xoxo

  2. I have a fisherman’s pie recipe from an Irish cookbook that I love to make in the fall! Such a comfort food for me!

  3. Monika says:

    This looks absolutely delicious, fish pie is such a treat, something I don’t make enough of.

  4. mistimaan says:

    Looks great and tasty……….hope I can taste it 🙂

  5. Corina says:

    This looks like perfect comfort food and I love the fact that it’s a little unusual too with the potato underneath the topping. I also love the sound of that smoked cauliflower in it. Thanks so much for sharing with #CookOnceEatTwice!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      Thank you! It was pure comfort. The potatoes worked a treat, I was going to just pan fry them and have on the side at first but thought less dishes if I add them to the fish pie! It worked and the potatoes added a nice texture 🙂
      Thank you for hosting #CookOnceEatTwice, I love the concept!

  6. nimmiafzal says:

    Wo wow wow.. 😍😍!! I don’t know what else to say.. This is something I would to eat at the party.. I am afraid whether I will finish the whole thing , without leaving anything to others😆!!
    Thank you so much for bringing this super delicious fish pie to the party..
    Happy Fiesta Friday 😊!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nimmi
      Am so glad you like it! Fish pie is a bit of a treat and so perfect for sharing!
      Thank you for co hosting Fiesta Friday and I hope your week is good! 🙂

  7. Jhuls says:

    Hi, Petra. I am glad you made it to this week’s FF party. The party is not the same without you. And this dish sounds absolutely delicious!

    • petra08 says:

      hello Juhls
      No week is the same without Fiesta Friday! I had every intention not to arrive so late but I lost the battle against time!
      Am glad you like it and thank you for co hosting! I hope your week is good 🙂 x

  8. This looks delicious, fish pie is such great comfort food when it starts to get cooler. #cookonceeattwice

    • petra08 says:

      hello Lucy!
      I completely agree with you! The season brings comfort foods galore, fish pie, pasta bake, soups! I can’t get enough 🙂

  9. Looks delicious Petra – I’m actually making a fish pie today too but with my usual cauliflower mash topping – 😊

    • petra08 says:

      hi Laura
      Oh, I love cauliflower mash! Actually I love cauliflower full stop! When the season comes it is so cheap and I have so many ideas! But fish pie with cauliflower mash sounds inspired, I must try that 🙂 Hope your week is good! x

  10. Wish I could taste samphire. Earlier this spring, I found saltwort on the beach. I took just a tiny bite and couldn’t make up my mind if I liked it or not. Samphire sounds a lot more appetizing. Your fish pie is drool worthy! I’m quite proud of the fact that I now find fish dishes to be mouthwatering, and not just fried fish 😄

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      You always make me smile! And I am so honored that you like the fish pie, I remember you are not always too keen on fish. I love fish but I have to admit far from all kinds.
      Samphire is sort of like skinny, more salty asparagus, I think it is the closest I can get to describe it. It is delicious and incredibly vibrant in color!
      Sorry for such late reply, I am not sure where the week went! xx

  11. Now I know all about samphire. Everything looks delicious, Petra.
    Happy Friday
    Tracey

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Fish Pie with Smoked Prawns and Scallops from Petra @ Food Eat Love […]



Leave a Reply

