One pizza dough, two pizzas

Pizza and tomato dip

When I moved here just a few years ago it was impossible to get a pizza that was worth the name. Now there are five places within walking distance that sells pizzas. Some of them are better than others but you can get a great pizza.

I walked past one of the places seeing a man tucking in to a large, delicious looking pizza and ever since I have been craving pizza. A while back I got a Pizza Steel. It is a steel plate to use in the oven and it cooks the most amazing pizzas. I knew I wanted to make my own pizza and I found a great pizza dough recipe from chef Bobby Flay. It is super easy to make and works every time.

I did half of the amounts in the recipe for the pizza dough and it was enough for two large pizzas.

 

I did pizzas with two different toppings and I added tofu to both of them and M didn’t even notice! It is a great way to get some more protein in. What are your favorite pizza toppings?

 

Place the pizza steel in a cold oven and put it on the highest heat. It needs 45 minutes to warm through and this is perfect for preparing the toppings.

 

The first pizza was a pesto pizza. I made some tomatillo and coriander pesto that I used as a base. I added mozzarella cheese, sliced, firm tofu, sliced mushrooms, sliced chilli, red onion, Camembert cheese and garlic. Before cooking I added a sprinkle of sea salt and some cracked black pepper.

 

pesto pizza

 

The cheese melted and the pesto was great.

 

pesto pizza

 

The toppings for the second pizza was the spicy tomato sauce I take to the market, it has a nice kick. On top of that I added mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, sliced red chilli, mushrooms, Camembert cheese, tofu and garlic. I sprinkled a little sea salt, cracked pepper and sumac over before baking it.

 

pepperoni pizza

 

I heated the remaining tomato sauce and used it for dipping. I had some chorizo sprinkles that I sell at the market just in case someone wants some extra protein.

 

Pizza and tomato dip

 

pesto pizza and pepperoni pizza

 

It hit the pizza spot. The base was thin and crispy and tofu worked a treat on pizza and I will be using it again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
23 Responses to “One pizza dough, two pizzas”
  1. mistimaan says:

    Hi Petra……..your pizza recipe is great. Hope if you can share it with me πŸ™‚

  2. Christine Ho says:

    Your pizzas look tempting. Homemade pizzas are the best. You can add any favourite toppings as much as you like. That’s why I like to make my own too.

  3. Megala says:

    Beautiful pizzas !

  4. So good to hear you also have a pizza steel Petra – I’ve been so impressed with mine that there’s no going back to a stone!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Laura
      I love my pizza steel! Have you tried baking on it yet? As I bake about 1/year I haven’t gotten that far yet. But one day! And they make the most perfect pizzas! πŸ™‚

  5. Lovely Pizzas!! They looks so great.

  6. chefkreso says:

    Both amazing pizzas, love the combo of toppings on each pizza πŸ˜€

  7. Amira Ian says:

    My favorite toppings was hot dog and chicken. They are good to go πŸ™‚

  8. Amira Ian says:

    And your pizzas look temptinggg

Leave a Reply

