Greek Salad

Greek Salad

It was 7.30 am and I went for a morning walk. The beach was covered in mist and I had to stop and take a minute to enjoy the view and fill my lungs with sea air.

 

Sea mist

 

The weather here changes so quickly and at the end of the walk a warm sun was breaking through.

In my spirit of excising I thought I would make a salad for lunch. I walked past a Greek restaurant the other day and I knew it was time to make a Greek salad.

 

The Indian summer has made the plants grow and I picked some nasturtium and garlic chive flowers from the garden to go with the salad.

 

Greek Salad 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 3 as a side salad

Ingredients

  • 100 gr or 3.5 oz Feta Cheese, cubed
  • 10 cherry tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1/2 cucumber, chopped
  • 1 small pepper, de seeded and sliced
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup Kalamata olives
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp olive oil (or to your liking)
  • 1/2 lemon, juice only
  • nasturtium, leaves and petals
  • Garlic chive flowers
  • Fresh parsley
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • a pinch of crushed chilli
  • a pinch of oregano

Mix the olives, tomatoes, onion and the cucumber. Add fresh parsley, lemon juice and olive oil. Place the salad on a plate or in a bowl and add the feta cheese, nasturtium, fresh parsley and garlic chive flowers.

Sprinkle over sea salt, chilli and oregano.

 

Greek Salad

 

I served the salad with strips of pan fried chicken and enjoyed a bit of a Greek inspired dinner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
16 Responses to “Greek Salad”
  1. DEE says:

    I have a weakness for Greek Salad & yours looks so very colourful & inviting. DEE

  2. mistimaan says:

    Looks like a healthy recipe 🙂

  3. Ben Aqiba says:

    That looks delicious 🙂

  4. Everything you cook always looks so beautifl! Brava!

  5. chefkreso says:

    Love how you decorated the salad, it looks wonderful!

  6. Lovely Petra and good to hear you’re enjoying an Indian Summer too ☀️

    • petra08 says:

      hi Laura
      It has been amazing. Sadly I think we have seen the last of the summer with 6 days with rain forecast but who knows! 🙂

  7. chefjulianna says:

    How beautiful! don’t you just love Indian summers?? 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you!
      I absolutely love Indian Summers and this year had an amazing one. Sadly we now have rain forecast for as long as they forecast but can’t complain 🙂

  8. Karen says:

    I eat a lot of Greek salads and I must say that yours is the prettiest one I’ve seen.

Leave a Reply

