Chilean Guava Berry Chocolate treats

Chilean Guava Berry Chocolate treats

I once went to an allotment course. We had just gotten our first allotment and wanted to get a good knowledge base. The best advice we came away with was to grow something we don’t usually like and to grow something we were unsure of what it was.

Every year I go on a hunt (mainly online) to see what new and wonderful seeds or plants that I can find. One year I bought Chilean Guava plants. They are fairly small evergreen bushes with beautiful and incredibly tasty little berries. I had never tried the berries so I had to wait almost a year.

The bushes are looking very healthy and they have lots of berries this year.

 

Chilean Guava Fruit

 

Apparently they grow in hedgerows in Chile and are used to make jams and also to infuse gin. I am not sure I will have enough for gin but I picked a few to make something sweet.

 

I don’t make sweet things very often but wanted something crunchy so got the cornflakes out. I wanted the base to be a bit nutty and used toasted, chopped walnuts and hazelnuts. I wanted something moreish and decided to make a crème pâtissière. After some more rummaging around I decided to also use coconut oil and chocolate and went to work.

 

I did the crème pâtissière the day before so it could set over night.

Crème pâtissière

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10-15 minutes 

serves makes about 30 small treats 

Ingredients

  • 3 dl or 1 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup sugar
  • 4 tsp corn starch

Split the vanilla pod in half length ways and scrape out the seeds. Add both the seeds and the pod to the milk and heat but don’t boil.

Whisk the egg yolks, sugar and corn starch. Add to the milk mixture and whisk the whole time. Bring the vanilla cream to a boil and let boil for about 30 seconds. This is to make sure the corn starch gets enough time to swell.

Cover with cling film, make sure it covers the vanilla cream direct and not just on top of the rim of the bowl. When cool place in the fridge over night.

Pass the vanilla cream through a fine sieve two or three times to make sure it is smooth.

 

I used guava berries and pomegranate seeds for garnish. I almost never make any sweet treats so I gave the guava berries a dusting of edible gold sprinkle.

 

Chilean Guava Berry Crunchy Chocolate Treats 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves makes about 30 small treats 

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup of cornflakes
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup chopped, roasted nuts, I used a mix of hazelnuts and walnuts
  • 1/2 dl demerara sugar
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup chocolate, I used Valrhona’s Jivara Lactee, a 40% cocoa milk chocolate

Mix the cornflakes, nuts and hazelnuts.

 

Cornflakes & nuts

 

Melt the chocolate and add the coconut oil and mix with the melted chocolate.

I used mini muffin tins to spoon in the chocolate mixture and left it to cool until set. I removed the chocolate from the tin.

 

Place the crème pâtissière in a piping bag and pipe on to the chocolates. Add the guava berries and the pomegranate seeds.

 

Chilean Guava Berry Chocolate treats

 

Why make treats if you can’t share them? Well, sharing them is my philosophy so I put a bunch on a plate and brought them over to my neighbor who had invited us to dinner.

 

Chilean Guava Berry Chocolate Sweets

 

Oh, yes , keep them treats cold or the vanilla cream will loose it’s shape! I was so distracted by a lovely dinner I forgot. They still tasted lovely and the Chilean Guava berries were amazing with chocolate and I would happily bring them to any party.

 

I am bringing these to the perfect place to share good food, the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday! This weeks co hosts are Suzanne, A Pug In The Kitchen and Ginger, Ginger & Bread. This is such a treat, have a look at their blogs, they are amazing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
29 Responses to “Chilean Guava Berry Chocolate treats”
  1. Great recipe! I didn’t It’s possible to do an allotment course, what a great idea.

  2. Very impressive Petra! I think I need to find an allotment and then a course! Here in Sydney my balcony is as outdoors as my veggie growing potential gets!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Laura
      Thank you! 🙂 Is it easy to get an allotment in Sydney? It is so lovely when you can pick super fresh produce and cook straight away! Some veggies tastes different! I bet your balcony is full of goodies 🙂

  3. Never even had these berries before but they look fantastic on those desserts. Nice work (:

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nicolas
      Thank you! I had never seen Chilean Guava Berries before, never in a shop so when I saw the bush I knew I had to try them! And I like plants that produce something for me to eat! The bush it self is evergreen so it looks nice as well in the garden 🙂

  4. mistimaan says:

    It looks yum……..hope I can taste it 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Priyabrataa
      Thank you! The Chilean Guava Berries are very different but absolutely delicious. As suspected they go very well with chocolate 🙂

  5. Jhuls says:

    Those guava berries are so pretty and these chocolate treats sound so amazing! Thanks for sharing, Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juhls
      Thank you! I couldn’t quite bring myself to cooking them in any way. They have a unique flavor and I think they look quite adorable! Not sure I ever thought I would say that about a berry! 🙂
      Hope your week is good!

  6. Ginger says:

    Just showed them to my mother -in-law who called them rosehips – rosa mosqueta – and she says they grow in the south of Chile. She says they sell them in the street markets of Santiago, in big baskets, and people use them for jams and infusions. The German settlers in the South took to them and use them similar to the German rosehips, Hagebutten. You can buy the oil, which is used for cosmetics.
    Thank you for sharing the fruit of your labour with us at FF – I have to say, I’ll always learn something new on your blog 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hello Steff
      Wow, you are a treasure of information! 🙂 sadly I don’t have enough for a jam, I thought I might use it to infuse some gin…
      Rosehip makes so much sense! They even look like little rosehips! They are so pretty and the flavour is just amazing! I wish I had a whole hedgerow.
      Thank you for co hosting FF and am glad I can bring something new 🙂
      Hope your week is good! 🙂

  7. chefkreso says:

    These treats are fabulous! 😀

  8. I have to find these Chilean guavas! I love the scent of guavas but I have to say I hate eating them because of the seeds! But if they’re this small, maybe the seeds are not much of a problem?! They don’t look much bigger than a pomegranate seeds from the picture. Wonderful treats, Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      Hello Angie
      They are tiny! 🙂 yes about the same as pomegranates! I had to go and cut one in half and the seeds and tiny, I didn’t even think of removing them!
      I hope yuh find them, they are wonderfully fragrant and the flavour is amazing 🙂 x

  9. TurksWhoEat says:

    These berries are beautiful, I’ve never heard of them but they look gorgeous. These treats look super yummy 😀 Thanks for hosting Fiesta Friday!

    • petra08 says:

      Hello!
      Thank you so much!
      I had never seen them before I found the bush in the catalogue and have to admit I am glad I like them! 🙂
      Am so happy to be co hosting the best foodie party around! Happy weekend!

  10. This is amazing, the berries are so pretty! Thanks so much for hosting Fiesta Friday Maria

    • petra08 says:

      hi Maria
      Thank you! The berries are just too cute and they have an amazing smell and flavor! Thank you for joining us 🙂

Leave a Reply

