Lamb al Asador inspired leg of lamb

Lamb Al Asador

The other day we had a storm brewing. The sky had an ominous color and apparently it was dust from the Sahara and particles from the Portuguese wild fires that caused the sky to look like someone pulled a blanket over all of us.

The sun was red and it looked a little bit spooky on the beach.

 

Red Sun on the beach

 

Luckily the dogs seemed unaffected and had a great time.

 

I went to get a lamb shoulder from the butcher but I was too late in the day and bought half a leg of lamb instead.

I have cooked leg of lamb before but I really wanted to try a new recipe, Lamb Al Asador. I found it a few weeks ago, the lamb is marinated in Chimuchurri and it sounded great. The lamb is then grilled but I cooked it in the oven.

 

I had all the best intention of following the recipe but I decided, after a look in the fridge, that I would change the marinade. I guess it is a green marinade sitting somewhere between a chimichurri and a green harissa, either way it is delicious on it’s own and it works great as a marinade.

 

Lamb Al Asador, my way

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 24 hours to marinade + 25 minutes/500 gr or 17.3 oz + 30 minutes resting

oven 200C or 392F and then 170C or 338F

serves use for up to 1 1/2 kg or 53 oz of lamb, I used leg of lamb

Ingredients

The Green Marinade 

  • 2 good sized tomatillos, chopped in to chunks
  • 2 spring onions/scallions, roughly sliced
  • 1 red chili (any chili you prefer works), sliced
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 3 crushed cloves of garlic, crushed
  • a small handful of parsley, chopped
  • a small handful of coriander, chopped
  • 1 heaped tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp sea salt

Lamb

  • about 1 kg or bone in, leg of lamb

Start with the marinade.

Place all of ingredients in a blender and mix.

Cover the meat with the green marinade and cling film it tightly. Leave it over night, 24 hours if possible.

 

 

Turn the oven on to 200C or 392F. Remove the clingfilm and place the lamb and the marinade in a roasting tray.

Place the lamb in the oven and turn the heat down to 170C or 338F. Cook for 25 minutes per 500 gr or 17.6 oz. The original recipe said 15 minutes per 500 gr or 17.6 oz but that would be too rare for me. This way the lamb is still pink and juicy but cooked through.

Rest the lamb for a minimum of 30 minutes, covered in tin foil to keep it warm.

 

I did a bulgur wheat salad with dill, spring onion/scallion and pomegranate.

 

Lamb Al Asador

 

The lamb melted in my mouth and I was really happy they had sold out of the shoulder of lamb.

 

This week is extra special as I am co hosting Angie’s Fiesta Friday with the lovely Vanhita, Curry and Vanilla!

Come and join us for some delicious treats and fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
20 Responses to “Lamb al Asador inspired leg of lamb”
  1. Liz says:

    Gorgeous presentation! I know that sky, it has been the same here from all the fires in Northern California…very strange and eerie.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Liz
      The sky didn’t clear for a few days and the light was, as you said eerie!
      Glad you like the lamb, I was really happy that the marinade worked out without oil! 🙂

  2. mistimaan says:

    Another great recipe by you Petra 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Priyabrataa
      Thank you so much! I love lamb and am happy I found a recipe that is fairly simple and still delivers so much flavor.
      Have a great weekend 🙂

  3. jackcollier7 says:

    Looks fabulous and sounds delicious. ❤

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jack
      Hope all is good! We are having a stormy weekend and am currently glad to be inside. Thank you so much and am glad you like the sound of the lamb.
      Enjoy the rest of the weekend 🙂 x

  4. chefkreso says:

    Amazing plating as always, the dish looks very flavourful and inspiring, great idea of combining these ingredients, especially the addition of coriander 🙂

  5. As always, beautiful presentation! Although I’m off meat right now, I’m sure I’ll be back to loving meat after I give birth so I’m saving your recipe for later! This looks absolutely delicious! Happy Fiesta Friday!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ai
      Thank you! Am sure this would work with firm tofu, perhaps cauliflower as well, I bet chickpeas would be very nice 🙂 I will have to have a think for a vegetarian recipe! Thank you for the inspiration and happy Fiesta Friday 🙂

  6. Looks tasty thanks for sharing.

  7. curryandvanilla says:

    The green marinade looks much like a chutney I make often!! I love the addition of tomatillos in them 🙂 Thanks for sharing this with FF! Happy Fiesta Friday 🙂 🙂

  8. Omg, my mouth is watering! How do you do this, recipe after recipe?! You just somehow know what to do with whatever ingredients you have on hand. Thanks for cohosting, Petra! ❤

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      How is your week? Sorry for late response, it was a bit of a crazy weekend here.
      Wow, I am not quite sure what to say, this is most likely the most amazingly lovely comment ever! AND I am not quite sure how to respond! ha ha, speechless, it doesn’t happen too often!
      I knew the flavors for the marinade would work, I just wan’t all that sure it would work with lamb but I was lucky and it did! 🙂
      I hope your week is good! xx

Leave a Reply

