Egg benedict with herbed hot sauce Hollandaise

eggs benedict with hotsauce hollandiase

There are a few dishes that I a absolutely love but almost never make. If I go out for brunch I love Eggs Benedict.

Hollandaise sauce is so delicious but I have to admit I find it hard to make at home, seeing how much butter actually goes in to it. If someone else is cooking it I seem to be able to simply block it out and enjoy it.

 

Sundays are my day off and I love to cook a big brunch and take my time enjoying eating it. Part of the enjoyment is to catch up on everything that has been going on and part to catch up with the news, a good Sunday paper is key, as well as social media in various forms.

 

This Sunday I knew I wanted Eggs Benedict. I didn’t have any English muffin, traditionally used, but a delicious rye bread.

I also didn’t have any ham so I thought I would replace this with chipolata sausages and bacon that I already had in the fridge . I had fresh coriander, dill and spring onions that I thought would work well in the hollandaise. I wanted a little kick so got my hot sauce out and finally tomatoes that I chopped for garnish and to add fresh bursts of flavor.

A hollandaise sauce can have many names depending on what has been added. I had a look through the classic pairings but decided to stick to my own version in the end.

Different flavored hollandaise sauces

  • Maltaise – Hollandaise made with a reduction orange juice and zest (typically blood oranges)
  • Mikado – Hollandaise made with a reduction of mandarin orange juice, zest
  • Mousseline – typically 1 part whipped cream is folded into 3 or 4 parts Hollandaise (or to taste) just before serving
  • Moutarde – Hollandaise flavored with mustard to taste
  • Noisette – Hollandaise flavored with noisette butter at the end (to taste)
  • Sauce Pimentée Chaude – Hollandaise flavored with Heatonomy Hot Hot Sauce, dill and coriander  (I so totally made that up but it sounds ok, doesn’t it?!)

 

I put the bacon and chipolatas in the oven first and then started on the Hollandaise sauce.

 

Herbed Hot Sauce Hollandaise – Sauce Pimentée Chaude

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10-15 minutes 

serves 2-3

Ingredients

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 50 gr or 1.7 oz butter
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/2 dl mixed, chopped herbs, I used dill and coriander
  • 2 spring onions/scallions, sliced fine
  • 1 tbsp Heatonomy Hot Hot Sauce, or to taste. Use the Very Hot or Reaper sauce for more heat
  • a pinch of salt, to taste
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Gently heat the olive oil and butter in a pan, it should be finger warm. Place the egg yolks and lemon juice in a bowl on top of a pan with gently boiling water.

Whisk until light and fluffy and then gently add the butter and olive oil. Whisk the whole time. Keep whisking the sauce until it thickens.

Add the chopped herbs, the spring onion and taste with salt

 

Hot sauce hollandaise

 

Keep the sauce warm whilst poaching the eggs.

 

I toasted the rye bread and added chipolatas and crispy bacon with a little of the hollandaise. Last add the egg, more hollandaise and the chopped tomatoes.

 

eggs benedict with hotsauce hollandiase

 

I liked the kick and flavor of the hot sauce in the hollandaise and the herbs and spring onion added texture and freshness to an otherwise quite heavy dish.

It tasted like pure indulgence and what a lovely way to kick off a lazy, naughty, Sunday brunch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
20 Responses to “Egg benedict with herbed hot sauce Hollandaise”
  1. mistimaan says:

    Loved your awesome recipe

  2. I don’t know how you even had the time to take a picture of this beauty. It looks absolutely delicious! I would like to ignore the butter too but not the flavor.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Butter is always so good and so naughty! 🙂 The Hollandaise was quite a lot lighter with olive oil but still good. I have tired to make it with just olive oil but it wasn’t quite the same 🙂 Am glad you like it and I hope your week is good!

  3. miakouppa says:

    My youngest daughter LOVES hollandaise. I think she will also love your version. Will definitely give it a try!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Billie and Helen
      thank you for stopping by and am glad you like it! Using olive oil makes the Hollandaise lighter and the herbs and hot sauce just adds a little bit more flavor 🙂

  4. mistimaan says:

    Hi Petra, I have nominated you for the Unique blogger award…….Please click the link below

    https://mistimaan.wordpress.com/…/…/25/unique-blogger-award/

  5. chefkreso says:

    As always I am wowed by the plating and the look of the dish!

  6. Anita Bacha says:

    What a tempting recipe! Too rich for me though, but I am sure it will make the delight of my family. Will definitely try it for brunch coming Sunday. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

