The Liebster award and cake

I have said it before but it is so true, blogging has enabled me to meet so many other lovely bloggers. Sometimes my interest of food takes over and sometimes I can make people glaze over a bit when I go in to foodie overdrive! Meeting other food bloggers means that it is about the food and no ideas are too quirky!

In April, and apologies for the delay, the lovely Becky at the blog Apronclad  rewarded me with the Liebster Award. It is An award received only from other bloggers, the Liebster was created to help discover and welcome new blogs.

 

liebster award

 

I am happy and honoured to have been nominated by Becky who has a range of utterly delicious sounding, often Mexican inspired dishes! Here is the link to her blog, have a look and prepare to get hungry.

 

As I was reading her questions trying to answer them I baked a cake. I did turn to trusty Betty Crocker for a Devils Food cake, they are so easy to make and it tasted even better with a cream cheese frosting and a red currant and rhubarb coulis. I of course had to eat the cake whilst writing this blog!

 

13May_Cake&Coulis

 

The Rules of a Liebster Award:

  • Post the Liebster Award logo on your blog, on your homepage or in a post.
  • Link back to your nominator
  • Answer the ten questions they have set up for you.
  • Nominate ten other bloggers for the award (preferably with under 1000 followers) and let them know they have been nominated.
  • Think of ten questions for your nominees to answer.

 

My responses to Becky’s questions

1.What is behind your blog’s name?

The name Food Eat Love stands for cook Food, Eat food, Love food, it doesn’t have to come in that order!

2. If you could eat dinner with anyone in the world, who would that be ? {alive or dead}

I would love to have dinner with the Dalai Lama, the Buddhist way of life has always had an appeal to me

3. What is your favorite meal from your blog?

This is so difficult. It might be the enoki and herb island in a dashi broth. It has lovely flavours and it turned out just as I had imagined it reflecting the mood and the balance between light and dark.

4.Name a few blogs/sites that inspire you?

There are sooo many absolutely amazing blogs, it is difficult to not pick a big bunch but here are a few

LoveFood UK – Food cooked straight from the heart

Foodie on Board – sometimes you “meet” other bloggers that seems to be twins when it comes to cooking in terms of flavours and textures. Julianna creates recipes that are bursting with delicious flavours.

Along the grapevine – Hilda is the queen of foraging and there is no end to the delicious treats she cooks up. I really wish I could go on a forage hunt with her and learn more!

Safari of the Mind – A wonderful blog filled with innovative recipes, beautiful pictures and wonderful stories.

Recipes from Molly – Fun recipes mixed with pictures from beautiful Hawaii. I have to admit it awakes my desire to travel

Hostess at Heart – Reading the recipes makes me wish I was there. I would love to smell the food cooking and then adore to sit down and have a taste of the lovely looking food.

5.Do you have any other hobbies/interests?

Spending time with friends and when I have time, dressmaking

6. Strangest thing you have ever eaten?

I am not quite sure what it was, we were on holiday in Tunisia and I tried a Tunisian stew that was completely black. It wasn’t very tasty, it was some kind of meat. I am not easily put off food but it was a very peculiar dish.

7. Favourite cookbook?

I have an abundance of cookbooks and I am not sure if I can pick a favourite but one book I always come back to is “Flavours” by Donna Hay.

8. If you could buy one “wow” item for your kitchen what would it be?  Something you wouldn’t normally splurge on…

Oh this is easy but it comes as a pair, a sous vide and a vacuum machine, the things I would cook!!!!!

9. What profession are you in?

I am a social media consultant and food photographer when someone is willing to pay!

10. What is something people would be surprised to know about you?

Ok, this might not sound like much but when I am feeling really down I love to sit and watch lots of romantic movies with very happy endings and I watch each happy ending a few times! I am usually more logical than romantic so this is a real splurge on my behalf and it is a very rare occasion.

 

I would like to nominate the following blogs, I have picked them as they are lovely, inspirational and I will never get tried of reading them!

 

Love Food UK 

Foodie On Board

Cooking with Mr Fitz

Along the Grapevine

Chilli and Mint

Spice in the City

Searching for Spice

The Frugal Hausfrau

From James to Jamie

Safari of the Mind

Recipes from Molly 

Hostess at Heart

 

Ok, that was twelve blogs but all so good I wanted to mention all of them! Have a look and I hope you will enjoy them as much as I do!

My questions for the bloggers are:

1. What inspired you to start blogging?

2. What is the most surprising thing about blogging that you have discovered since you started?

3. Are you reading a book right now and if so what is it?

4. What is your favourite, sweet or savoury?

5. What is the most memorable dish that you have eaten?

6. What is your favourite kitchen gadget?

7. If you had no restrictions, where would you go on your next holiday?

8. Name three ingredients that you always have at home?

9. Name your favourite (or one of them) restaurant and what makes it a favourite?

10. What dish would be a perfect dish for a date?

 

It is such an honour to be nominated for this award and I am so happy to accept. Thank you Becky!

 

 

 

 

Comments
14 Responses to “The Liebster award and cake”
  1. Lovely to read more about you xx

    • petra08 says:

      hi Elaine
      Thank you! Sometimes I do get so carried away with the food and don’t share a lot about myself 🙂

  2. Loretta says:

    Lovely Petra, both the cake and getting to know a bit more about you 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you. I have put a comment on your blog to notify you about the nomination, just follow the award rules if you want to, please don’t feel obliged but I wanted to mention your blog as it is outstanding 🙂

  3. Loretta says:

    Ooops, and goodness me, I see my name on there, what do I do next? :)))

  4. You are such a sweet girl. I would love it if you visited and would make anything that sounded good to you. More than that, I envy you your life by the sea so I might just have to package up the dinner and bring it to you. i loved seeing the answers to your questions. It just shows we have a lot in common. I also agree with your award list of bloggers. Many of them I know through blogging and enjoy them too. I didn’t know you were a Social media consultant! I am….a social media ignoramous :).

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Thank you 🙂
      Your blog is so lovely! I have to admit I don’t really miss my London life but I miss all the variety of foods and cuisines! It is more limited here but the produce I can get is quite amazing.
      Social media covers so much but you seem to master blogging! 🙂
      Maybe one day we will meet up and share a meal, that would be so much fun! x

  5. Corina says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination. I love your blog too and am always impressed by the way you put together such delicious looking meals. I’m looking forward to having a look through the blogs of your other nominations too.

  6. aurumeve says:

    looks so yummy!!!
    AurumEve.com ~ Global Jewelry

  7. chefjulianna says:

    Hi Petra! I have fallen so far behind and am only catching up right now with a lot of my blogging buddies! It was so nice to read about you and notice that we have lots more in common than just our love of food! So cool that you love dressmaking! I used to do a ton of that too, now I don’t seem to have the time! Thanks again for the lovely nomination. That was very sweet of you! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna, wow! I didn’t know you did dressmaking! I never have time any more but I have felt lately that I would love to do some. I still have quite a lot of lovely fabrics that would be a shame to waste.
      Your blog is so lovely, it always makes me so incredibly hungry I had to stop reading it at night in bed!! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

