A chocolate lovers dream cake

I love to cook and I could happily spend hours in the kitchen cooking, new and tried foods. It is very rare that I actually feel like baking but after getting my hands on some Varlhorna chocolate, my favorite, I have been wanting to make a chocolate cake. I have a recipe written down on a piece of paper. I got it from a French cookbook but unfortunately I didn’t write down the name. This cake has no flour but it is light as a feather and simply delicious. Today, and in celebration of Easter I wanted to add more chocolate!

 

Flour less chocolate cake with chocolate ganache 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 45 minutes 

serves 8-12

Ingredients

  •  250g or 9oz milk cocolate, I used Varlhorna as I love the flavor
  • 225g or 8oz salted butter cut in to cubes
  • 5 eggs
  • 100g or ½ cup caster sugar, I used demerara
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • butter for greasing the tin
  • cocoa powder for dusting the cake tin
  • grease proof paper

 

Cut out the base for the tin of the grease proof paper. Grease a cake tin with butter and cocoa powder.

 

20April_CocoaForDustring

 

Chop the chocolate and cube the butter. Place it in a glass bowl on top of hot water, don’t bring up the heat too much, let it take it’s time. Mix the vanilla essence with the cocoa powder. Whisk the eggs and the sugar and add the ingredients to the melted chocolate and butter. Pour the mixture in to the greased cake tin.

 

20April_ChocolateCakeMix

 

Fold tinfoil and wrap around the cake tin. Mine wasn’t wide enough so I had to fold two sheets together before wrapping it around the cake tin.

 

20April_TinFoil

 

Place the cake tin in a pan and pour around boiling water before placing in the oven for 45 minutes.

 

Even with my crap oven the cake seems fool proof. It came out looking slightly fluffy but it soon settled. Leave it to cool.

 

20April_BakedCake

 

 

I then took the cake out and turned it upside down before cutting it in to a square.

 

20April_CutChocolateCake

 

The cake is very light, moist and still dense, sort of fudge like. Good chocolate is key. I went to Yauatcha in Soho not log ago and was again amazed at the pastry section where Graham Hornigold‘s, Executive Patsry chef at the Hakkasan Group, creations are lined up, one more exquisite than the other.  Inspired I decided to make a chocolate ganache and garnish the cake. I have a long way to go but it was an ok start. I heated cream and added choped chocolate for the ganache and let it cool before garnishing the cake.

 

20April_Chcocolate

 

The ganache was nice and thick and I added Easter eggs and dried corn flowers before serving.

 

20April_chocolateCake

 

Either way all the chocolate almost floored me it was so rich!

 

20April_CutCake

 

I thought this would be a great cake to bring to friends at the Fiesta Friday, over at Angie’s blog The Novice Gardener, and I have entered it to Javelin Warriors always great blog challenge about cooking from scratch, Made with Love Monday.

 

FoodFiestaFridayMadeWithLove

Comments
21 Responses to “A chocolate lovers dream cake”
  1. I’ve never met anything chocolate that I don’t like, so even though I’ve never had a flourless cake before, I just know I’m going to like this. Fudgy chocolate cake sounds pretty much perfect to me! ❤

  2. Wow, this looks so decadent, Petra! The texture is so rich and I love that it’s flour-free and loaded with chocolate. I can’t imagine any chocolate lover turning this down…

  3. Ngan R. says:

    Yum, Petra! This flourless chocolate cake looks wonderful. I usually have this once a year at Passover, made by a friend. I’ve never made it myself, but now I have your recipe to pin and try in the future! Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday and I love the little eggs on top!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ngan

      thank you 🙂 this is super easy and as I said, pretty fail proof! The eggs added an extra crunch that was very nice with the soft cake! Pure indulgence!

  4. This cake look so decadent! Perfect for my chocolate craving 🙂

  5. Looks so decadent and yummy! 🙂 I am getting a massive chocolate craving right now! 🙂

  6. Corina says:

    It looks incredible – perfect for Easter.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina

      thank you 🙂 It was a lovely Easter treat and I have to admit I am glad I don’t make it more often or I would be large as a house!

  7. Nancy says:

    I love flour-less chocolate cake – the flavors just seem to be intensified! Yours looks positively sinful! The texture looks fabulous and far from dried out. 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with all of us Fiesta Friday…it’s a fabulous contribution!

  8. This does look like a chocolate lovers dream…Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

