Sunday lunch, pork belly and seeded roast potatoes

PorkBelly with roast potatoes

It is getting colder outside and I seem to be wanting hip hugging, slow roasted and filling foods. I want the house to be filled with the smell of cooking and teasing my appetite.

I usually make Sunday a real foodie day and this week I bought pork belly from P Small & Sons Butchers. They have a stall opposite mine at the market.

I usually have a mooch around the market before it opens when everyone has set up. If you come early to a market you get first pick of everything and if you come just before closing what you are after might have sold out but you can most likely get a bargain.

I liked the layer of fat and was already looking forward to the crackling.

A proper Sunday lunch demands roast potatoes and I roasted these with wagyu beef fat and lots of seeds.

To roast the pork belly I found this recipe to work the best, it makes the meat tender and crackling crackle.

Whilst the pork belly is cooking prepare the roast potatoes.

Seeded roast potatoes

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 45-50 minutes

oven 160C or 320F

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 12 medium potatoes
  • 2 tbsp (wagyu) beef fat
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cracked black pepper
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup rock salt

Wash the potatoes and melt the fat. Mix the seeds. Roll the potatoes in the fat and then in the seed mix.

Sprinkle the rock salt on the bottom of an oven tray and place the seeded potatoes on top.

Roast the potatoes until they are soft in the middle and the skin is slightly crispy.

wagyu beef fat seeded roast potatoes

The pork belly was perfectly cooked with delicious crackling and the seeded roast potatoes were a perfect match.

PorkBelly with roast potatoes

I got so excited about my dinner I forgot to take a photo of the full meal. I did a crispy green salad, gravy made from the off cuts of pork and served it with cranberry sauce.

It was a hearty Sunday lunch, the kind of food that feels like a hug, worth every calorie.

I am bringing this to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday! Come and join us here.

Her co host is the very inspirational Juhls, The Not So Creative Cook.

Comments
3 Responses to “Sunday lunch, pork belly and seeded roast potatoes”
  1. Jhuls says:

    Omg! Petra, I love the seeded potatoes. I haven’t made anything like that and it is genius to use beef fat! Thanks for sharing! Happy Fiesta Friday!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Pork Belly and Seeded Roast Potatoes […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.