Light seafood chowder

I got up early one morning and couldn’t go back to sleep. In the end I got up and went for a walk on the beach thinking that I should eat more seafood. I was thinking along the lines of clam chowder. This is one of my favourite seafood soups but I actually don’t want to cook it myself as I suspect that it contains more cream than I would like to know. It is ok to eat it in a restaurant where I can pretend that the calorie content isn’t quite so high, silly I know.

 

I went to the fishmonger after the walk to see what he had. He didn’t have any clams but I left with cockels, prawns, salmon and a couple of lovely, juicy scallops. M picked some chard from the allotment and I picked a mix of herbs from the garden and was all set to get cooking.

 

Seafood chowder 

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 15 minutes 

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup shelled cockels
  • 1 dl cooked and peeled prawns
  • 200 gr or 7 oz salmon
  • 2 scallops with roe
  • 4 medium potatoes
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 litre or 5 cups of chicken stock
  • 2 dl or 1 cup of sliced chard or spinach
  • a handful of herbs, I used dill, coriander, parsley and chives
  • 2 tbsp light creme fraiche
  • salt to taste

Remove the skin of the salmon and cut in to cubes. Slice the scallop. Peel and cube the potatoes, slice the chilli in half, remove the seeds and slice it. Chop the onion and garlic fine and last chop the herbs and set aside.

 

10June_Seafood

 

10June_Veg

 

Bring the stock to a boil with the potato, onion and garlic, let boil for a couple of minutes. Add the seafood, turn the heat off and let stand with a lid on for ten minutes. Then add the chard, put the lid back on and let stand for another five minutes.

Just before serving add the creme fraiche, give the soup a whisk, taste with salt and serve with the chilli sprinkled on top.

10June_SeafoodChowder

 

10June_SeafoodChowder1

 

Just as the  soup was ready the doorbell went and a neighbour came by. He was tempted by the food and we had a great meal, I love the way food brings people together and how nice it is to linger over a nice meal with friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Light seafood chowder”
  1. Looks delicious Petra, love seafood stew, I always think of seafood stew as a summer dish and your lighter version is perfect, a glass of crisp white wine and it’s a perfect meal.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      You are so right, a glass of wine would be perfect, sitting in the garden with the chowder 🙂 I just love seafood so much and this was a great way to have variety without too many cooking processes. 🙂

  2. Oh I love how colorful this dish is and how flavorful it sounds!

  3. I cannot wait to try this recipe. Seafood chowder is one of my all time favorites! Thanks for posting. 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Molly
      Thank you. Seafood chowder is one of my favourites too and this version is very light and quick to make, I hope you will enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

