Two kinds and three shapes of ravioli

ravioli shapes

Ravioli is a perfect little foodie parcel. It has soft pasta on the outside and offers a burst of flavor when you bite in to the filling.

I have continued my pasta experiments and this time I did two kinds, turmeric pasta and barley grass and pink peppercorn pasta.

I looked at the pasta and decided to make ravioli.

 

Turmeric pasta

turmeric pasta

 

The other pasta was flavored with pink peppercorn and barley grass powder. You can find the basic pasta recipe here.

 

Barley grass and pink peppercorn pasta with flecks of the crushed, pink peppercorns.

barley grass and pink peppercorn pasta

 

I did two kinds of filling.

 

Feta cheese and apricot ravioli filling

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 3-5 minutes for the ravioli

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 100 gr 3.5 oz feta cheese
  • 2 tbsp yogurt (I used low fat)
  • 1 spring onion/scallion, sliced fine
  • 4 dried apricots, fine diced

Crumble the feta cheese in a bowl. Add the yogurt and mix until it is fairly smooth. Add the spring onion and the diced apricots.

Place the filling in the fridge until you are ready to start your ravioli.

 

Apricot and feta ravioli filling

 

The second filling started with celeriac and was much softer than the feta cheese filling but I actually can’t choose a favorite. I added the pink peppercorns to enhance the flavor of the crushed pink peppercorns in the pasta.

 

Celeriac and pink peppercorn ravioli filling 

preparation time 20 minutes 

cooking time 3-5 minutes for the ravioli 

serves 2 

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup of celeriac puree
  • 1/2 dl of cream cheese
  • 1 tbsp whole pink peppercorns

To make the puree. Peel 1/2 head of celeriac and cut in to cubes. Steam the cubes soft, add a tablespoon of cream and blend until smooth. If you want it smoother press the puree through a sieve.

 

Pink peppercorns

pink peppercorns

 

Let the celeriac puree cool and mix it with cream cheese and pink peppercorns. Keep the mixture in the fridge until you are ready to assemble the ravioli.

 

celeriac puree and pink peppercorn ravioli filling

 

I did rectangular and half rounded pasta shapes. The last one I did is called caramelle, it just sounded so irresistible I had to make some. They are shaped like caramels with the filling inside.

 

caramelle pasta

 

I did the half rounds and the rectangles to keep the fillings apart.

 

ravioli shapes

 

I boiled water with salt, an Italian man once told me the water is supposed to taste like the sea so don’t be too shy with the salt.

 

I did a tomato sauce to go with the ravioli and I also steamed some purple sprouting broccoli. I cooked a beetroot and sliced it and made beetroot puree. A few weeks ago I went past Neal’s Yard Dairy in Covent Garden, a cheese mecca where I bought a wonderful cheese, Doddington. The milk comes from only one heard and it is made by just one person. The flavor is amazing and I decided to use this to grate over the ravioli instead of parmesan.

 

ravioli tomato sauce beetroot and sprouting broccoli

 

Add a drizzle of good extra virgin olive oil before serving.

 

I kept trying to figure out what ravioli was my favorite but I couldn’t. The celeriac and pink peppercorn filling was much softer but had a lovely pink peppercorn burst. The feta cheese and apricot had a firmer texture. The mix with the cheese and apricot worked a treat. In the end I was too full to try another one so I decided that they both worked so well together they should be served together.

 

I am bringing a batch of these to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday, my week is never the same if I miss all the foodie fun! Excellent co hosts this week are Mollie, The Frugal Housewife, and Ginger, Ginger and Bread. They are amazing writers as well as cooks, so have a look at their blogs and be ready to get hungry!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
19 Responses to “Two kinds and three shapes of ravioli”
  1. Ginger says:

    They look amazing – I simply cannot make up my mind which one to eat first 😉 The celeriac and pink pepper sounds amazing!
    Happy Fiesta Friday!
    Ginger x

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ginger
      Apologies for late response! Am glad you like them! I am not sure either what worked the best but am glad I made them together! 🙂 I hope you have a Happy Easter! x

  2. chefjulianna says:

    I am drooling….. Well, I simply must learn how to make pasta! You are constantly inspiring me, Petra!! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      I have to admit my pasta maker spent about a year in the cupboard before I even opened it! I like the pasta better with flavors in it than plain and the options are endless!
      Am so happy I can inspire!
      Happy Easter 🙂 x

  3. I love making ravioli. Also love the idea of adding turmeric to pasta dough.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Kitty
      There is something quite soothing about making ravioli isn’t it? Am glad you like it. Turmeric is great in pasta, even better with crushed pink peppercorns! 🙂

  4. Truly you have three masterpieces here! Lovely!

    Happy FF!

    Mollie

  5. ICSbyAnugya says:

    They look gorgeous! 🙂 Happy FF!

  6. Simply amazing! You are amazing! 👏👏

    • petra08 says:

      hi lovely Angie
      thank you for your lovely comment! Am glad you like them! 🙂 xx

      • Sometime in my lifetime I’d like to make ravioli from scratch 😄 Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

        • petra08 says:

          Hi Angie
          I went to three pasta making courses over the years and it was only the last one that actually inspired me. Having done it myself it was so quick and easy! Ravioli is a little fiddly to make but so nice to eat, I find them a bit therapeutic to make as you can’t concentrate on anything else! I would have to confess that it is the cleaning up that takes that bit longer! 🙂 xx

  7. jainisthomas says:

    looking very nice, and its unique and good shape makes it very attractive. Thank you for sharing. foodie lovers also should try some other on Famous Tastes in India

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Two Kinds and Three Shapes of Ravioli from Petra @ Food Eat Love […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.