Loin of rabbit

Lately I have been working pretty much non stop, fulfilling orders and re stocking my own shelves with products to sell at the market. Working from home makes it so easy to go to the kitchen “just to make something” not quite realizing I am working and forgetting to take some time off.

As I was a standing at my stall at the market I was checking what the butcher opposite me had brought this week and a packet of loin of rabbit caught my eye. This would be perfect for some me time in the kitchen. M was distracted watching as much of the rugby world cup as possible.

I had picked up spaghetti squash, spinach and a ripe avocado from the green grocer stall at the market. I had enough ingredients to make dinner and had the remaining ingredients at home. I was so inspired I couldn’t wait to get home and start cooking. Of all the squashes, spaghetti squash is my favourite. I think I could eat it every day. It is in season at the moment so I am trying to make the most of it.

M is not keen on rabbit so I knew I had to make an effort and see if I couldn’t win him over. Do you have any ingredients like that in your household?

For this I used two frying pans but you can of course just use one. Start by pan frying the loin of rabbit and brown the off cuts whilst the loin is resting. I used the two pans as I had a strict time limit, I wanted to eat when the game was over.

Parma ham wrapped loin of rabbit with spaghetti squash & avocado and pea guacamole

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 1 hr for the spaghetti squash, 8-10 minutes for the loin of rabbit + resting time for the meat

oven 160C/320F

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 2 loins of rabbit, bone in
  • 1 good sized spaghetti squash
  • 1 carrot, washed and chopped roughly
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed, skin on is fine
  • 4 slices of parma ham
  • spinach leaves
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 2 dl or 1 cup of red wine
  • 1 tsp marmite
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • a pinch of sugar
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of vegetable stock
  • 15 gr cold, cubed butter

Avocado & pea guacamole

  • 1 large ripe avocado
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 small handful of coriander/cilantro
  • about 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup just wilted spinach
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 chilli, leave the seeds in for a bit more heat
  • 2 dl/1 cup of defrosted petit pois/peas
  • 1 spring onion, sliced

When I opened the package I realised that the rabbit kidneys were on the loin.

loin of rabbit

I gently cut the kidneys off and put them to the side to cook with the meat.

Cut the meat off the bone and remove any fat or membrane and set this to the side.

loin of rabbit

Wash the spaghetti squash first and pierce the skin with a pairing knife all over. Place the squash on a baking tray and bake until soft to touch, depending on the size this can take up to an hour.

Steam the spinach leaves until just wilted and plunge down in ice cold water before draining gently on a kitchen towel.

I heated the first pan with some vegetable oil and placed the offcuts and bones in there to brown. Once browned add the garlic and carrots and a pinch of sugar and brown everything further.

Whilst that is browning salt and pepper the loin fillets gently. Rabbit is a mild flavoured meat and I didn’t want to overpower the flavour. Then place the wilted spinach leaves on top. Place two Parma ham slices on a board and add the spinach wrapped loins of rabbits, two at the time.

Roll the Parma ham around the two loins of rabbit and secure with a toothpick or two before doing the same to the other two loins of rabbit.

Peel and stone the avocado. Defrost the peas, I usually do this by placing them in a jug and pour over boiling water and let stand until you are ready to use them.

Place the avocado, sliced spring onion, sliced chilli, coriander, spinach, peeled and crushed garlic and lime juice in a food processor and blend until fairly smooth. Add the peas and blend on pulse to keep some texture and taste with salt.

Heat a pan and add vegetable oil. When this is hot add the Parma ham wrapped loins of rabbit and brown it all around. Turn the heat down slightly and pan fry until it is just cooked through, it takes around 8 minutes and then wrap it in tin foil and let rest until you are ready to serve. In the hot pan add the kidneys and sear for two minutes per side before adding them to the resting loin of rabbit.

De glaze the pan with half of the red wine, de glaze the other pan with the offcuts, carrot and garlic with the rest. Strain the wine but save the bones in to the first pan. Reduce to about half. Add marmite, soy sauce and the vegetable stock and reduce again, keep tasting and add salt and pepper if needed.

Pick any remaining meat off the bones and add to the sauce. Last add the cubed, cold, butter and keep on low heat until you are ready to serve.

When the spaghetti squash is soft to touch take it out of the oven and cut in half. Scoop out the seeds and run a fork along the flesh to create the “spaghetti”.

Serve the loin of rabbit sliced with the spaghetti squash, the kidney cut in half, the avocado and pea guacamole and a drizzle of the sauce over.

loin of rabbit dish

The rabbit was light but full of flavour, the Parma ham works a touch of magic. The spaghetti squash and avocado and pea salsa added a fresh richness to the dish and oh that sauce! I had finally won M over to enjoy rabbit and I felt rejuvenated after my cooking session.

I am bringing this to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. This week she has hosted the best foodie party around for no less than 503 times! And it is still the best so come on over and check it out here.

Comments
7 Responses to “Loin of rabbit”
  1. Chef Mimi says:

    What a great meal! I hope it was appreciated. Rabbit is so good. My mother used to make it, but mostly to freak people out.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Chef Mimi
      You do make me laugh! But I know rabbit can be upsetting to some. It was finally appreciated! It is a very sustainable meat and light as well! 🙂

  2. If I ever cook loin of rabbit myself, I’ll use this recipe.

    I did eat rabbit once in the Welsh village of Llanvihangel Crucorny (I’m still pleased that I can spell and pronounce that name until this day) in their pub.

  3. Wow, that sounds like a special dinner! I haven’t cooked with rabbit meat but I’ve eaten it – it did taste like chicken 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Thank you! This was farmed rabbit so very mild in flavour. It was only the loin so it cooked quite fast and it was delicious! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.