Ginger and golden beetroot salad

I love the allotment and I think it is amazing when all the vegetables starts to grow and I can leave with a basket full of produce. Last week we picked lots and lots of red currants. I put most of them in the freezer but decided to dry some.

Last night I picked a kholrabi, I had never seen or eaten this vegetable until a few years ago and now I love it. They look like funny, sweet UFO’s

16July_Kholrabi

The golden beetroots are a little bit sweeter than the red beets but just as delicious

16July_GoldenBeet

Golden beetroot salad

Preparation time 10 minutes

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 golden beetroots 
  • 1/2 courgette
  • a piece of fresh ginger
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • juice of 1/4 lemon
  • 1 kholrabi
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 peach
  • 2 tsp of dried red currants

Peel and grate the beetroot and the fresh ginger fine and place in a bowl Zest half the lemon and cut one quarter off. Add the lemon juice and mix. Peel and cube the avocado, peel the peach and peel the kholrabi and grate the courgette and the kholrabi and add to the salad. Last add the dried currants, if you don’t have currants use dried cranberries.

I could not resist picking some new potatoes as well. I love them with melted butter but I wanted something lighter so I boiled them with sweetcorn and mixed them gently, cut the corn off the cob and added heated, skimmed milk. It was perfect and it stopped me from covering the potatoes with butter! I cooked some mushrooms, a small artichoke head and ½ corn on the cob.

16July_Dinner

It was a very light and filling dinner, perfect for a warm day and to use the freshly picked vegetables!

Comments
4 Responses to “Ginger and golden beetroot salad”
  1. I’ve never used golden beets, just the red ones. Definitely need to get some – I love the color. And I love the recipe too – really good. Thanks.

    • petra08 says:

      hi John

      I am so pleased you like it 🙂 Golden beetroots are slightly sweeter than regular ones and delicious grated raw as well as cooked!

  2. Becsy says:

    I can’t wait to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

